Home > Exhibits > Online Exhibits > VU Faculty in 1875

Vanderbilt University Faculty in 1875

The following pages contain portraits of faculty and administrators who were on the staff of Vanderbilt University when it opened in October 1875.


Bishop Holland Nimmons McTyeire
President, Board of Trust

Landon Cabell Garland, LL.D.

Department of Philosophy, Science and Literature

Landon Cabell Garland, LL.D.
Professor of Physics and Astronomy

Nathaniel T. Lupton, A.M.
Professor of Chemistry

Milton W. Humphreys, A.M., Ph.D.
Professor of Greek

B. W. Arnold, A.M.
Adjunct Professor of Latin

Edward S. Joynes, A.M.
Professor of Modern Lanuages

James M. Safford, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Mineralogy, Botany, and Economical Geology

Biblical Department

Thomas Osgood Summers, D.D., LL.D
Professor of Systematic Theology

Alfred Micajah Shipp, D.D.
Professor of Exegetical Theology

John C. Granberry, D.D.
Professor of Practical Theology

Law Department

Thomas H. Malone
Dean of the Faculty
Professor of Commercial Law and Insurance, Equity Law, Jurisprudence of the Courts of the United States, and Pleading and Practice of Civil Cases

W. B. Reese
Secretary of the Faculty
Professor of the Law of Real Property, Criminal Law and Procedure, Torts, and International and Constitutional Law


Edmund D. Baxter
Professor of the Law of Domestic Relations, Agency, Partnership, Corporations, Evidence, Wills, and Executors


Medical Department

Thomas Menees, M.D.
Dean of the Faculty
Professor of Obstetrics

James M. Safford, M.D., Ph.D.
Secretary of the Faculty
Professor of Chemistry

Paul F. Eve, M.D.
Professor of Operative and Clinical Surgery

William T. Briggs, M.D.
Professor of the Principles and Practice of Surgery

Thomas L. Maddin, M.D.
Professor of the Institutes and Practice of Medicine

William L. Nichol, M.D.
Professor of the Diseases of Women and Children, and of Clinical Medicine

Van S. Lindsley, M.D.
Professor of Physiology

Thomas A. Atchison, M.D.
Professor of Materia Medica and Therapeutics

Thomas O. Summers, Jr., M.D.
Professor of Anatomy and Histology

[an error occurred while processing this directive]