Jean and Alexander Heard Library | Vanderbilt University
419 21st Avenue South | Nashville, TN 37203-2427
(615) 322-2807 |


Home

About Us General Information Hours & Holiday Closings Directions & Parking Information Contact Us Staff

Collections Books Manuscripts Memorabilia University Archives Photographic Archives DiscoverArchive Digital Collections

Research Finding Material Research Guides Getting Help

Policies & Services Policies Services

Faculty Services

Online Exhibits

Digital Collections Vanderbilt History Peabody History Fugitives & Agrarians Online Exhibits

Links


Research Guides:
Research Visit Checklist

Introduction

Primary research material abounds in archives, libraries and other institutions all over the world. Because such material is generally irreplaceable, few institutions will loan their collections so researchers must be prepared to travel to the sources essential to their projects. This guide is intended to offer suggestions on planning a research trip to an archives or primary resource repository.

Do Your Homework

Before starting a primary resource research project, researchers should first read up on their topic using secondary resources. Consult books and articles previously written on your topic to gain a familiarity with your subject. Note important dates related to your topic since this may help you identify – or eliminate – some primary resource collections. Try to narrow the focus of your research since broad topics may prove difficult to research thoroughly.

Locating Material

While reviewing secondary resource material on your topic, browse author bibliographies to identify primary resources consulted in preparation of the paper or book.

Search WorldCat, OCLC’s global catalog of library collections, for material related to your topic. [A link to this resourse can be found on the Heard Library's Find Books and Other Items page.] If searching for a person or an organization, search for the topic using the Author search field. Search for general subjects using the keyword or subject fields. Check the category tabs at the top of the search results page for one labeled “Archival.” This tab will include manuscript collections and other resources identified as primary resource material.

Don’t forget to check Google and other Internet search engines for your topic. Use subject keywords or names combined with “Papers,” “Manuscripts,” or “Collections” to find mentions of your subject on library and archive web sites.

Finally, ask a local archivist or librarian for advice on locating archives with source material on your topic. Once you have identified archives with collections of interest, contact the archives about your topic and ask for assistance in locating local material which may not be listed in catalogs or on web sites.

Planning Your Trip

Once you’re ready to plan your research trip, take some time to find out about access and use policies at the institutions you plan to visit. Some of the questions you need to ask may include the following:

Using the Archives

Since some items may be too fragile for copying, be sure to plan suitable time for onsite research. Questions related to physical use of the archives may include: