Jean and Alexander Heard Library | Vanderbilt University
419 21st Avenue South | Nashville, TN 37203-2427
(615) 322-2807 |


Home

About Us General Information Hours & Holiday Closings Directions & Parking Information Contact Us Staff

Collections Books Manuscripts Memorabilia University Archives Photographic Archives DiscoverArchive Digital Collections

Research Finding Material Research Guides Getting Help

Policies & Services Policies Services

Faculty Services

Online Exhibits

Digital Collections Vanderbilt History Peabody History Fugitives & Agrarians Online Exhibits

Links


Research Guides:
Researching Buildings on Campus

Overview

The current Vanderbilt University campus actually consists of two originally separate campuses: Vanderbilt University and George Peabody College for Teachers. In researching the history of buildings on campus, it is sometimes helpful to know which buildings were built by which institution. In general, the buildings east of 21st Avenue South (across from the Medical Center) were part of the Peabody College campus while those on the west side of the street formed the Vanderbilt campus. Depending on which building you are researching, you may wish to investigate sources in the Peabody College Archives, the Vanderbilt University Archives, or both.

Some buildings have also changed name over time. The Wyatt Center was known first at the Social-Religious Building on the Peabody campus. Kirkland Hall, on the Vanderbilt campus, has been known over time as Main, Old Main, College Hall, and University Hall.

Where to Look

New structures, like The Commons, will not be represented in the Archives because they are too recent for inclusion. For recent structures, try checking local newspapers, publicity announcements on the Vanderbilt University web site, and the TV News Archive for video news coverage.

For older buildings, visit the building itself to see if there are any historical markers describing the origin of the building. You can also look at old course catalogs which will usually have old maps of the campus as well as textual descriptions of how specific buildings on campus are being used. The buildings may also be mentioned in old alumni magazines, yearbooks, local newspapers, university publications, and the University Archives. Special Collections may also have subject files containing newspaper clippings, brochures or pamphlets covering the history of the building. Ask at the public service desk in Special Collections for help with subject file material.

Getting Help

If you need assistance with research, please contact the division by phone at
(615) 322-2807 or .

Sources

Books:

Bulletin of Vanderbilt University (course catalog).
Call number: LD5577 .V35
Held by: Special Collections
Note: Includes campus maps and building descriptions.

Bulletin of Peabody College (course catalog).
Call number: LB1960 .N26 A345
Held by: Special Collections
Note: Includes campus maps and building descriptions.

The Comet/The Commodore (Vanderbilt). (yearbook)
Call number: LD5597 .C65
Held by: Special Collections
Note: Covers 1887 to present.

Conkin, Paul Keith. Gone with the Ivy : A Biography of Vanderbilt University.
Call number: LD5588 .C66 1985
Held by: Biomedical, Central, Divinity, Law, Peabody, Special Collections

Conkin, Paul Keith. Peabody College : From a Frontier Academy to the Frontiers of Teaching and Learning.
Call number: LB2193 .N297 C66 2002
Held by: Central, Peabody, Special Collections, Web Access

The Garnet and Blue (Peabody). (yearbook)
Call number: LD3618 .G376
Held by: Special Collections
Note: Covers 1902-1904, 1908-1911.

McGaw, Robert A. The Vanderbilt Campus : A Pictorial History.
Call number: LD5588 .M33
Held by: Biomedical, Central, Special Collections, Web Access

The Peabody Pillar. (yearbook)
Call number: LB1960 .N26 P5
Held by: Special Collections
Note: Covers 1949-1979.

Newspapers:

Index to the Tennessean and the Nashville Banner.
Call number: MiFiche 304
Held by: Central
Note: on microfiche; covers years 1978 to 1992.

The Nashville Banner.
Call number: MiFilm 2129
Held by: Central
Note: Covers 1940 to 1998.

The Nashville Tennessean
Call number: MiFilm 2000
Held by: Central, Web Access
Note: Central covers 1940 to present; Web Access covers 1999 to present.

Peabody Post
Call number: Shelved by Title
Held by: Peabody, Special Collections
Note: Covers 1947 to 1979.

Vanderbilt Hustler.
Call number: LH1 .V25 V35
Held by: Central, Special Collections, Web Access
Note: Central and Special Collections covers issues from 1888 to present; Web Access covers 2001 to present.

Vanderbilt Register.
Call number: Shelved by Title
Held by: Special Collections, Web Access
Note: Special Collections covers issues from 1980 to 2006; Web Access covers issues from 1995 to 2007.

Magazines and Journals:

Vanderbilt Alumnus/V Magazine
Call number: LH1 .V25 A4
Held by: Special Collections, Web Access
Note: Special Collections covers issues from 1915 to present; Web Access covers issues from 2000 to present. Index available on microfiche covering 1915 to 1997.

Peabody Reflector Magazine
Call number: LH1 .G28 P4
Held by: Special Collections
Note: Covers 1927 to 1979. Paper index available.

Subject Files:

Subject files containing newspaper clippings, brochures, and informational pamphlets are available for the following topics:

Buildings
Benton Chapel
Benton, John Keith
Fraternities
Kirkland Hall
Kirkland, James
Old Main (Kirkland Hall)
Peabody College
Vanderbilt University History
West Side Row (Fraternity Row)
Women’s Center
Wyatt, Joe B.

Archival Material:

The University Archives may have historical material relating to buildings on campus. Documents in the Archives may include departmental reports, plans for renovation, correspondence relating to building use or maintenance, and other material.

For information on material in the University Archives, see our list of holdings on the University Archives web site.

Please note:
Due to sensitive material which may be present in the Archives, the most recent 40 years of material is closed to public research. Material prior to this date (1872 through December 1968) is available for public research, with the exception of student records which are restricted regardless of date.

Researchers may request access to more recent material in the Archives by writing the Office of the General Counsel. In your letter, state the topic you are researching, the date range of material you need access to, and the dates you plan on conducting your research. Since it may take several weeks for the permission letter to be received, we recommend contacting the General Counsel several weeks before you plan on conducting research. You may contact the Office of the General Counsel at the following address:

Office of the General Counsel
2100 West End Avenue, Suite 750
Nashville, TN 37203
(615) 322-5155