Jean and Alexander Heard Library | Vanderbilt University
419 21st Avenue South | Nashville, TN 37203-2427
(615) 322-2807 |


Home

About Us General Information Hours & Holiday Closings Directions & Parking Information Contact Us Staff

Collections Books Manuscripts Memorabilia University Archives Photographic Archives DiscoverArchive Digital Collections

Research Finding Material Research Guides Getting Help

Policies & Services Policies Services

Faculty Services

Online Exhibits

Digital Collections Vanderbilt History Peabody History Fugitives & Agrarians Online Exhibits

Links


Research Guides:
Biographical Source Material in Central Library

The following family papers are available on microfilm in Central Library.

Davis, Mary Gardiner.  Journal, 1861-1862 (Travel Diary – Grand Tour).
MiFilm 1921 no. M70 – Government Information 4th Floor

Faulkner family.  Papers, 1803-1843.  Letters, wills, and business transactions [belonging to the Falconer family].  Filmed with Singleton family papers.
MiFilm 761 – Payne Room 6th Floor

Hamilton family.  Collection of miscellaneous papers, 1807-1873.  Filmed with Harris family.  Letters and miscellaneous papers.
MiFilm 533, 674 – Payne Room 6th Floor

Harris family.  Letters and miscellaneous papers, 1848-1896.  Includes letters and account books of Albert W. Harris; papers of T.O. Harris and papers of W.O. Harris. With this are filmed: Wilson family. Papers and miscellaneous letters; House family.  Correspondence and business papers; Overton family.  Collection of miscellaneous papers; Thompson family.  Correspondence and business papers; Hamilton family. Collection of miscellaneous papers;  Orr family.
MiFilm 674 – Payne Room 6th Floor 

Hazard family.  Family record of the Hazards of Rhode Island.  Presented to James T. Drummond by Evan M. Hazard, August 20, 1894.  Filmed with:  Singleton family.  Papers.
MiFilm 761 – Payne Room 6th Floor

Hemenway, Abby Maria.  Clarke papers. Mrs. Meech and her family. Home letters, familiar incidents and narrations linked for preservation.
MiFilm 1921 no. 2742 – Government Information 4th Floor

Henry family.   Papers, 1820-1864.  Letters, receipts, deeds and diplomas.  Filmed with  Singleton family papers.
MiFilm 761 – Payne Room 6th Floor

King family.  Papers, 1792-1956.  This collection includes signatures from old letters,
1817-1854; papers on the founding of the Primitive Baptist church in Rutherford County, Tennessee, 1804-1933; Memoirs of Colonel James Moore King, 1792-1877; History of Rutherford County and miscellaneous records and papers.  Filmed with Rose family papers.
MiFilm 564 – Payne Room 6th Floor 

Knox family.  Henry Knox papers. Army officer and Secretary of War. Family
correspondence; correspondence with Revolutionary associates, government officials, land speculators, and friends ; bills; receipts; ledgers; maps; military records and returns; and papers of Knox's wife and of her family. Includes Waldo family papers dealing chiefly with Maine lands.  Correspondents include William Bingham, David Cobb, Nathaniel Greene, William Heath, Henry Jackson, Benjamin Lincoln, and George Washington.
Mifilm 1495 – Payne Room 6th Floor

The Lee family papers, 1742-1795.
MiFilm 1417 – Payne Room 6th Floor

McIver family.  Miscellaneous papers and memoirs.  1810-1866.
MiFilm 561 – Payne Room 6th Floor

McTyeire, Holland Nimmons, 1824-1889.  Papers and family correspondence, the latter dealing with his schooling, 1873-1874.  Correspondence. [microform] Letters to his wife Amelia Townsend, 1847-1889; letters of Mrs. Robert L. Crawford concerning the origin of Vanderbilt University; letters of Charles F. Deems, 1885-1887; letters of L.C. Garland relating to the organization of Vanderbilt University, 1873-1888.
MiFilm 792 – 793 – Payne Room 6th Floor

O’Bryan family.  Correspondence and miscellaneous papers of the O'Bryan family; materials relating to General William White with an unsigned typewritten narrative concerning the White-Houston duel.
MiFilm 557 – Payne Room 6th Floor  

Overton family.  Collection of miscellaneous papers, 1827-1830.  Mostly business letters to John Overton.  Filmed with Harris family. Letters and papers.
MiFilm 674 – Payne Room 6th Floor                                    

Polk family.  Correspondence and papers of the Polk family, 1832-1848 including a Surveyor's book of William and Thomas Polk and George Dogherty, and genealogical table of the family of Major Gen. John Pope, U.S. Army.   Filmed with Church Records of St. John's Episcopal Church, Maury  County, Tennessee, 1842-1847; Church Records of St. Peter's Episcopal Church, Columbia,  Tenn., 1828-1953.
MiFilm 673 – Payne Room 6th Floor 

Records of ante-bellum southern plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War.
MiFilm 2211 – Payne Room 6th Floor

Reed family.  Letters and papers of the Reid family, including the John Reid collection of letters, 1807-1835, and some Confederate letters.
MiFilm 557 – Payne Room 6th Floor

Rose family.  Letters and papers of the Rose, Woods, Cockrill and Sevier familes, 1800-1866. This collection includes wills, marriage licenses; a copy of the Ulster County Gazette, Jan. 4, 1800; a copy of the Nashville Gazette, April 4, 1823, and other records.
Filmed with King family papers.
MiFilm 564 – Payne Room 6th Floor

Singleton family.  Papers. Including genealogical tables and extracts from scrapbooks.
Filmed with: Henry family papers, Hazard family papers, and Falconer family papers. 
MiFilm 761 

Southern women and their families in the 19th century. Series A, Holdings of the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.
MiFilm 2305 – Payne Room 6th Floor

Thompson family.  Correspondence and business papers, 1834-1863.  Filmed with Harris family. Letters and miscellaneous papers.
MiFilm 674 – Payne Room 6th Floor                            

Wilson family.  Miscellaneous papers and letters, 1855-1941. Includes diaries of Fannie Wilson and Thomas B. Wilson.  Filmed with Harris family.  Letters and miscellaneous
papers.
MiFilm 674 – Payne Room 6th Floor