Peabody Library, part of the Jean and Alexander Heard Library, Vanderbilt University

site index · search help

ACORN · ATHENA · DATABASES & EJOURNALS · TUTORIALS · INTERLIBRARY LOAN · KUDZU · RESERVES · WEBCAM · WEBMAIL · TEST PILOT

Home > Research Room > Peabody Library Database Comparison Chart


Peabody Library Database Comparison Chart

Printable comparison chart (56K Word .doc)

Scroll through the chart below to compare some of our databases, or jump to a particular database from the following list (select the blue arrows Back to database list in the chart below to return to this list):

 

Database Description Why Consult Coverage Full-Text?
Business Source Premier

Back to database list
Provides access to over 7,400 scholarly business journals,as well as exclusive access to the Harvard Business Review. For full-text journal articles on the topics of business, economics, and leadership. 1965 - present Yes
EconLit

Back to database list
Sponsored by the American Economic Association, EconLit is the world's comprehensive index to economic literature. For locating journal citations in the field of economics. 1969 - present No
Education Abstracts FTX

Back to database list
Indexes articles from over 400 English-language periodicals, yearbooks, series and supplements. For journal articles and sources on the topics of preschool,elementary,secondary,and higher education. 1983 - present Full-text coverage begins with 1996 citations
Emerald

Back to database list
Exclusive access to over 40,000 peer-reviewed full-text articles published by the MCB University Press. For locating articles in the areas of education, business, and management. 1994 - present Yes
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)

Back to database list
Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the US Deptartment of Education, ERIC is the premier database for education literature. For locating comprehensive information on an education topic. 1966 - present More than 107,000 full-text non journal documents from 1993-2004 are now available online.
General Business File ASAP

Back to database list
This database provides analyses of company activity and performance, as well as trends in management, economics, and politics. For locating full-text articles on the topics of business, economics, and in-depth company information. 1980 - present Yes
Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text

Back to database list
Database contains access to more than 615 legal journals and indexes 200 law books. For locating full-text articles in the areas of law and legal studies. 1918 - present Full-text coverage begins with 1982 citations.
InfoTrac Expanded Academic

Back to database list
A general interest database which includes both newspaper and periodical articles. For locating full-text articles on general subjects.Database also provides coverage for the areas of education and psychology. 1980 - present Yes
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

Back to database list
Database contains citations to over 2,000 journals, book chapters,and dissertations related to the topics of language and linguistics. For locating citations related to language and learning disabilities . 1973 - present No
Medline/PubMed

Back to database list
Database from the National Library of Medicine contains international coverage of over 3,800 journals in the field of medicine. For locating citations from biomedical journals. 1966 - present No
Mental Measurements Yearbook

Back to database list
Indexes over 2,000 standarized tests complete with references and test reviews. The database does not include the text of any test. For locating basic test information such as purpose, validity, and reviews. 1989 - present No
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)

Back to database list
Database covers current events and public policy issues, including economic and social conditions, politics and international relations. For locating citations in the fields of political science and the social sciences. 1972 - present No
ProQuest

Back to database list
A general interest database containing a wide range of magazines and journals.Some scholarly journals are included. For locating full-text articles on various subjects. 1971 - present Yes
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Back to database list
Database contains more than 1.5 million listings for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. For identifying dissertations and theses. 1861 - present No
PsycINFO

Back to database list
Database sponsored by the American Psychological Association contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology. For locating resources in the field of psychology. 1887 - present No
Social Sciences Citation Index - Web of Knowledge

Back to database list
A multidisciplinary database that covers over 1,730 of the most significant social science journals. For identifying articles that have been cited by a particular author. 1973 - present No
Sociological Abstracts

Back to database list
Indexes the international literature in sociology and the social and behavioral sciences. For locating journal citations in areas such as family and social welfare, social psychology, group interaction and women's studies. 1963 - present No

 

Top of page

 

About the Library | Finding Articles and Other Resources | Finding Reserves
For Peabody Faculty | For Peabody Students | Learning Commons

 

Heard Library | Peabody College | Vanderbilt University

 

Copyright © 2001-2007 by the Peabody Library.
Comments or questions about our Web site? Let us know.
Created by Leslie Foutch, Librarian
Last updated: November 23, 2005.