Home > Finding Articles and Other Resources > Resource Guides > Education in Tennessee Resource Guide
Contents
Metropolitan Nashville-Davidson County
Tennessee in General
* Curriculum Guides
* Directories
* Organizations
* Reports and Statistics
* Other Information
This resource guide is a selected list of sources available in the Peabody Library and/or online relating to education in Tennessee, including Metro Nashville. Further materials may be found by searching on ACORN using subject headings like education; education, higher; statistics; achievement tests (and so on), combined with tennessee.
Metropolitan Nashville-Davidson County
Directory of Personnel and Services. Nashville, TN: The Schools.
Latest in Ready Reference L 903 .T25 N373
Names, addresses, and telephone numbers for employees of the Metro Nashville-Davidson County public school system.
Metro Nashville Public Schools.
http://www.nashville-schools.davidson.k12.tn.us
The Nashville Public Schools website contains information about the school district, the 125 local schools, and provides links to information which supports the curriculum and to individual schools.
Nashville Public Education Foundation.
http://www.nashvillepef.org/
The Nashville Public Education Foundation, a non-profit organization which promotes education in Metropolitan Nashville, provides funding information and contacts.
Profiles, Metropolitan Nashville Public Schools. Nashville, TN: Metropolitan Nashville-Davidson County Public Schools.
Latest at http://www.mnps.org/schools/MNPS-Schoolslist.html
Tennessee in General
Curriculum Guides
Curriculum Standards. Tennessee Department of Education.
http://www.state.tn.us/education/ci/cistandards.htm
Mathematics Curriculum Guide. Nashville, TN: Tennessee Department of Education, 1986.
Curriculum Lab M.C T256 D281
Directories
MDR's School Directory. Shelton, CT: Market Data Retrieval.
Latest in Ready Reference L 901 .C527
Tennessee volume includes the address, phone number, enrollment, and other information for each public elementary and secondary school in the state of Tennessee. The information is alphabetized according to each county.
Tennessee Campuses. Tennessee Higher Education Commission.
http://www.state.tn.us/thec/tn_campus.html
Offers links to the Web sites of public universities, public community colleges and technical institutes, technology centers, and independent colleges and universities in Tennessee. Also links to the addresses of Tennessee postsecondary institutions.
Tennessee School Directory. Tennessee State Department of Education.
http://www.k-12.state.tn.us/sde/
Includes active public and non-public schools. For a complete directory of non-public schools, see the Tennessee Department of Education's Directory of Non-Public Schools (http://www.state.tn.us/education/private.htm).
Organizations
Tennessee School Boards Association.
http://www.tsba.net
This site contains current and back-issues of the TSBA Newsletter Board Talk (http://www.tsba.net/news/publications.html).
Tennessee State Board of Education.
http://www.state.tn.us/sbe
Includes links to the Master Plan for Tennessee Schools, rules and regulations governing education in Tennessee, and information about teacher certification and licensing, among other things.
Tennessee State Department of Education.
http://www.state.tn.us/education
The contents of this site include the Tennessee Schools Report Card, ConnecTEN, teacher certification information, department information, and statistics and reports, among other things.
Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation.
http://www.state.tn.us/tsac/index.htm
Up-to-date college financial aid information.
Reports and Statistics
Annual Joint Report on Kindergarten through Higher Education in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: Tennessee Higher Education Commission and the Tennessee State Board of Education.
2001 edition (267 KB pdf file) (1997 edition at Reference LA 367 .A6 1997; earlier editions in the stacks at LA 367 .A6 and L 202 .T464)
Annual Statistical Report of the Department of Education. Nashville, TN: Tennessee Department of Education.
2001 edition at http://www.state.tn.us/education/mstat.htm (scroll to Annual Report) (earlier editions in the stacks at L 202 .B153)
Comprehensive statistics for public schools (K-12) in Tennessee, including revenue sources, distribution of funds, and expenditures.
College-Bound Seniors. Tennessee Report. New York: The College Board.
2004 edition (300 KB pdf file) (earlier reports available from http://www.collegeboard.com/about/news_info/cbsenior/yr2004/reports.html, under "Archives")
Funding Needs Report, Tennessee Public Schools. Nashville, TN: Tennessee State Board of Education.
Latest edition at http://www.state.tn.us/sbe/master.htm as part of the Master Plan for Tennessee Schools (2002 and 2003 editions also online; 1996 edition in Reference at LB 2826 .T2 T468 1996)
High School Graduates. Nashville, TN: Labor Market Information Unit, Research and Statistics Division, Tennessee Department of Employment Security.
Reference LB 1695 .H544 and at http://www.state.tn.us/labor-wfd/hs/hisch2001color.pdf (160 KB pdf file)
Kids Count: The State of the Child in Tennessee. Nashville, TN: Tennessee Commission on Children and Youth.
2003 edition at http://www.state.tn.us/tccy/kc-soc03.html (2000-2002 editions online, under "Previous Publications"; 1998 edition in Reference at HV 742 .T2 S727)
Master Plan for Tennessee Schools. Nashville, TN: State Board of Education.
2004 edition at http://www.state.tn.us/sbe/master.htm (2002 and 2003 editions also online; earlier editions in the stacks at L 202 .T466)
No Child Left Behind Report for Tennessee. Nashville, TN: Department of Education.
2004 edition at http://www2.state.tn.us/k-12/ayp04.asp
State of Tennessee Report Card.. Nashville, Tenn.: Department of Education.
Latest edition at http://evaas.sasinschool.com/tn_reportcard/welcome.jsp (1998 edition in Reference at LA 367 .A165; earlier editions in reference and stacks at same call no.)
Contains assessment information, as well as demographics, expenditures, and other data, for each local public school system in Tennessee.
Statewide Master Plan for Tennessee Higher Education. Nashville, TN: Tennessee Higher Education Commission.
Online (247 KB pdf file)
Statistical Abstract of Tennessee Higher Education. Nashville, TN: Tennessee Higher Education Commission.
2003-2004 edition online (1.14 MB pdf file) (2002-2003 edition online; earlier editions in Reference and in the stacks at LA 367.5 .S74)
The Status of Women in Academe: A System Summary of Institutional Actions Taken or Planned to Address TBR Task Force Recommendations. Nashville, TN: Tennessee Board of Regents, 1990.
Reference LC 1758 .T2 S878
Tennessee Featured Facts. Atlanta: Southern Regional Education Board, 2003.
2003 edition at http://www.sreb.org/main/EdData/FactBook/2003StateReports/Tennessee.pdf (820 KB pdf file) (earlier edition at Reference LA 367.5 .T355 2001)
Tennessee Student Test Results. Nashville, TN: State Testing and Evaluation Center.
Latest at http://www.state.tn.us/education/tsresults.htm (earlier results in the stacks at LB 3060.3 .T466)
Other Materials About Education in Tennessee
Commitment to the Future: July 23, 1996. Nashville, TN: Metropolitan Board of Public Education, 1996.
Ready Reference LA 369 .N2 C665 1996
Dropout Prevention Manual/Guide: Tennesseans Working to Prevent School Dropouts. Nashville, TN: Tennessee Department of Education, 1991.
Reference LC 144 .T2 D767 1991
Public School Laws of Tennessee. Nashville, TN: State Board of Education.
2001 Laws at http://www.state.tn.us/education/legpsl2001.htm
1999 Laws at http://www.state.tn.us/education/legpsl9899.htm (earlier years in the stacks at LB 2529 .T423)
Databases
ERIC and Education Abstracts Full-Text
These databases, available online to Vanderbilt students, faculty and staff, are potential resources for locating articles and reports about Nashville schools. There is also a free version of ERIC available.
Periodicals
Tennessee School Boards Journal. Nashville, TN: Tennessee School Boards Association.
Peabody Periodicals
About the Library | Finding Articles and Other Resources | Finding Reserves
For Peabody Faculty | For Peabody Students | Learning Commons
Heard Library | Peabody College | Vanderbilt University
Copyright © 2001-2007 by the Peabody Library.
Comments or questions about our Web site? Let us know.
Last updated January 23, 2005.
