Peabody Library, part of the Jean and Alexander Heard Library, Vanderbilt University

site index · search help

ACORN · APA · ATHENA · DATABASES & EJOURNALS · INTERLIBRARY LOAN · KUDZU · OAK · TUTORIALS · WEBCAM · WEBMAIL

Home > Finding Articles and Other Resources > Resource Guides > Special Education Resource Guide


Materials of interest to persons studying, working or living with students or adults requiring special needs (physical, emotional, learning, mental, etc.) All are located in the Peabody Library unless otherwise noted.


Directories

Computer Resources for People with Disabilities: A Guide to Exploring Today's Assistive Technology. Alliance for Technology Access. Alameda, CA: Hunter House, 1994. Reference HV 1569.5 .C675 1994

The Directory for Exceptional Children. Boston: Porter Sargent Publishers. Latest in Ready Reference LC 4007 .D5

Directory of College Facilities and Services for the Handicapped. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1983-. Latest in Ready Reference LC 4812.6 .D57

Directory of Facilities and Services for the Learning Disabled. Novato, California: Academic Therapy Publications. Latest Only in Ready Reference L 901 D5114

Kravets, Marybeth and Imy Wax. The K & W Guide to Colleges for the Learning Disabled: A Resource Book for Students, Parents, and Professionals. 4th ed. New York: Random House, 1997. Ready Reference L 901 .K73 1997

Peterson's Colleges with Programs for Students with Learning Disabilities. Princeton, NJ: Peterson's Guides. Latest in Ready Reference L 901 .P458

Pierangelo, Roger. The Special Education Yellow Pages. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Merrill, 2000. Reference LC4031 .P488 2000

Resources for People with Disabilities and Chronic Conditions. Lexington, MA: Resources for Rehabilitation, 1996. Reference HV 1559 .U6 R47 1996

Handbooks, Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Americans with Disabilities Act Handbook. Washington, DC: Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, 1991. Reference KF 3469 .A447 1991

Encyclopedia of Disability and Rehabilitation. Edited by Arthur E. Dell Orto and Robert P. Marinelli. New York: Macmillan Library Reference USA; London: Simon & Schuster and Prentice Hall International, 1995. Reference HV 1568 .E53 1995

Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults. Edited by Cecil Reynolds and Elaine Fletcher-Janzen. New York: J. Wiley & Sons, 1999. Reference LC 4007 .E53 1999 v.1-3

Handbook of Autism and Pervasive Developmental Disorders. Edited by Donald J. Cohen, Anne M. Donnellan. Silver Spring, MD: Wiley, 1987. Reference RJ 506 .A9 H26 1987

Handbook of Behavior Therapy in Education. Edited by Joseph C. Witt, Stephen N. Elliott and Frank M. Gresham. New York: Plenum Press, 1988. Reference LB 1060.2 .H36 1988

Handbook of Gifted Education. 2nd ed. Edited by Nicholas Colangelo and Gary A. Davis. Boston: Allyn and Bacon, 1997. Reference LC 3993.9 .H35 1997

Handbook of Special and Remedial Education: Research and Practice. 2nd ed. Edited by Margaret C. Wang, Maynard C. Reynolds, and Herbert J. Walberg. Tarrytown, NY: Pergamon, 1995. Reference LC 3965 .H263 1995

Hayward, Salome M. Access to Education for the Disabled: A Guide to Compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co., 1992. KF 4210 .H49 1992

International Handbook of Research and Development of Giftedness and Talent. Edited by Kurt A. Heller, Franz J. Monks, A. Harry Passow. New York: Pergamon Press, 1993. Reference LC 3993 .I596 1993

Sardegna, Jill and T. Otis Paul. The Encyclopedia of Blindness and Vision Impairment. New York: Facts on File, 1991. Ready Reference RE 91 .S27 1991
An "A to Z" compendium on the subject of blindness and its issues and topics with over 500 entries. It includes all aspects of blindness, including health issues, surgery and medication, social issues, myths and misconceptions, economic issues, education, adaptive aid and organizations.

Sternberg, Martin. American Sign Language: A Comprehensive Dictionary. New York: Harper & Row, 1981. Reference HV 2475 .S77 1981

Technology for Students with Disabilities: A Decision Maker's Resource Guide. A collaborative production of the National School Boards Association, and the Office of Special Education Programs, Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services, U.S. Department of Education. Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Education, 1997. LC 4705 .T434 1997

Tyer, David E. Encyclopedia of Mental and Physical Handicaps. Austin, TX: Pro-Ed, 1991. Reference RC 570 .T88 1991

Westman, Jack C. Handbook of Learning Disabilities: A Multisystem Approach. Boston: Allyn and Bacon, 1990. Ready Reference LC 4704 .W47 1990

Additional Sources

1994 State Special Education Outcomes: A Report on How States Are Assessing Educational Outcomes for Students with Disabilities. Minneapolis, MN: National Center on Educational Outcomes, College of Education and Human Development, University of Minnesota; Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Education, Office of Educational Research and Improvement, Educational Resources Information Center, 1995. Periodicals ERIC Document 385061 (1993 can be found in Ready Reference LC 4031 .S738)

Accessible computer technology: meeting the needs of people with disabilities. Washington, DC: Thompson Pub. Group, 1999. HV1569.5 .A334 1999

Advances in Special Education. (Annual) Greenwich, CT: JAI Press, 1980-current. LC 3950 .A36

Aefsky, Fern. Inclusion Confusion: A Guide to Educating Students with Exceptional Needs. Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin Press, 1995. LC 4031 .A54 1995

Black, Bertram J. The Mentally Ill Child Grows Up: Transitions to the World of Work. New York: Brunner/Mazel, 1994. HV 3005 .B53 1994

Boyle, Joseph R., and Mary Weishaar. Special Education Law with Cases. Boston: Allyn and Bacon, 2001. KF 4209.3 .B69 2001

Daugherty, Richard F. Special Education: A Summary of Legal Requirements, Terms, and Trends. Westport, Conn.: Bergin & Garvey, 2001. Reference KF 4209.3 .D38 2001

Freeman, Paul B., et al. The Art and Practice of Low Vision. Boston: Butterworth-Heinemann, 1991. RE 91 .F67 1991

Handbook of Mental Retardation. Edited by Johnny L. Matson and James A. Mulick. New York: Pergamon Press, 1991. Reference RC 570 .H345 1991

Henderson, Cathy. College Freshmen with Disabilities: A Statistical Profile. Washington, DC: HEATH Resource Center, 1992. Ready Reference LC 4031 .H447 1992

International Review of Research in Mental Retardation. New York: Academic Press, 1966-1993. RC 570 .I5 vol. 1-22

Issues in Educational Placement: Students with Emotional and Behavior Disorders. Edited by James M. Kauffman, et al. Hillsdale, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 1995. LC 4181 .I86 1995

Lewis, Rena B. Special Education Technology : Classroom Applications. Pacific Grove, CA: Brooks/Cole Pub. Co., 1993. LC 3981 .L49 1993

Living With Low Vision: A Resource Guide for People With Sight Loss. Lexington, MA: Resources for Rehabilitation, 1993. Reference HV 1790 .L585 1993

N.O.D./Harris Survey of Americans with Disabilities. Conducted for the National Organization on Disability by Louis Harris and Associates, Inc. New York: Louis Harris and Associates, 1994. Reference HV 1553 .N563 1994

Osborne, Allan G., et al. Effective Management of Special Education Programs: A Handbook for School Administrators. New York: Teachers College Press, 1993. LC 3981 .073 1993

Reading and Dyslexia: Visual and Attentional Processes. Edited by John Everatt. New York: Routledge, 1999. LB 1050.5 .R362 1999

Research and Practice in Deafness: Issues and Questions in Education, Psychology, and Vocational Service Provision. Edited by Olga M. Welch. Springfield, IL: Charles C. Thomas, 1993. HV 2551 .R4 1993

Rief, Sandra F. The ADD/ADHD Checklist. Paramus, NJ: Prentice Hall, 1997. RJ 506 .H9 R54 1997

Safford, Philip L. and Elizabeth J. Safford. A history of Childhood and Disability. New York: Teachers College Press, 1996. HV 888 .S23 1996

Sage, Daniel D. and Leonard C. Burrello Leadership in Educational Reform: An Administrator's Guide to Changes in Special Education. Baltimore: P.H. Brooks Pub. Co., 1994. LC 3981 .S34 1994

Serving the Nation's Students with Disabilities: Progress and Prospects: A Report to the President and the Congress of the United States. National Council on Disability. Washington, DC: National Council on Disability, 1993. LC 4031 .N355 1993

Smith, Corinne, and Lisa Strick. Learning Disabilities: A to Z: A Parent's Complete Guide to Learning Disabilities from Preschool to Adulthood. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1999. Reference LC 4705 .S62 1999

Thomas, Stephen B. and Charles J. Russo. Special Education Law: Issues and Implications for the '90s. Topeka, KS: National Organization on Legal Problems of Education, 1995. KF 4210 .T562 1995

Turnbull, H. Rutherford, III. Free Appropriate Public Education: The Law and Children with Disabilities. 3rd ed. Denver, CO: Love Publishing Company, 1990. KF 4210 .T87 1990

What Every Special Educator Must Know: The International Standards for the Preparation and Certification of Special Education teachers. Reston, VA: Council for Exceptional Children, 1998. Ready Reference LC 3969.45 .C69 1998

Winzer, M. A. The History of Special Education: From Isolation to Integration. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 1993. LC 3965 .W56 1993

Yell, Mitchell L. The Law and Special Education. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Merrill, 1998. KF 4210 .Y45 1998 and also Online

Ysseldyke, James E., et al. Critical Issues in Special Education. 2nd ed. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1992. LC 3981 .Y87 1992

Government Documents

Catalog of Captioned Educational Videos and Films. Washington, DC: Captioning & Adaption Branch, Office of Special Education & Rehabilitation Services, U.S. Dept. of Education, 1993-. Government Documents ED 1.209/2

Directory of National Information Sources on Disabilities. Washington, DC: National Institute on Disability and Rehabiltation Research, 1991-. Latest in Reference Government Documents ED 1.30/2: D63

Discipline of Handicapped Students in Elementary and Secondary Schools. Washington, DC: Office for Civil Rights, 1991. Government Documents ED 1.2: H19/11

Kraus, Lewis E. and Susan Stoddard. Chartbook on Disability in the United States. Washington, DC: U.S. National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research, 1989. Reference Government Documents ED 1.2 D63/8

Meeting the Needs of Infants and Toddlers with Handicaps: Federal Resources, Services, and Coordination Efforts in the Departments of Education and Health and Human Services. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Education and the Department of Health and Human Services, 1989. Government Documents ED 1.2 In 3/4

"To Assure the Free Appropriate Public Education of All Handicapped Children": Annual Report to Congress on the Implementation of the Education of the Handicapped Act. Washington, DC: U. S. Department of Education. LC 4031 .T6

Indexes and Abstracts

Child Development Abstracts and Bibliography. Chicago: University of Chicago Press for the Society for Research in Child Development. Reference Index Table HQ 750 .A1 C47

Current Index to Journals in Education. Phoenix: Oryx Press. Reference Index Table Z 5813 .C8 and available Online as part of ERIC

Education Abstracts Full Text. New York: H.W. Wilson Co. Available Online

Exceptional Child Education Resources. Reston, VA: Council for Exceptional Children. Reference Index Table Z 5814 .C52 E9

Psychological Abstracts. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. Reference Index Table BF 1 .P65 and available Online as part of ERIC

Periodicals

(The following journal titles are available in the Periodicals Department of the Peabody Library.)

Exceptional Children. Reston, VA: Council for Exceptional Children. Also available Online

Gifted Child Quarterly. Circle Pines, MN: National Association for Gifted Children.

Journal for the Education of the Gifted. Detroit: Wayne State University Press.

Journal of Learning Disabilities. New York: Fairchild Publications.

Mental Retardation. Washington, DC: American Association on Mental Deficiency.

Teaching Exceptional Children. Reston, VA: Council for Exceptional Children.

The Volta Review. Washington, DC: The Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf.

Newsletters

Special Education Report. Arlington, VA: Capitol Publications.
Latest issues LC 4001 .E383 (Also called Education of the Handicapped)

Internet Resources

Internet Resources for Special Children. http://www.irsc.org/spec_ed.htm
A good site to visit for links on special education.

LD Online. http://www.ldonline.org
This site offers a vast array of information on topics within the realm of learning disabilities.

Learning Disabilities Association. http://www.ldanatl.org
The purpose of this site is to advance the education and general welfare of those individuals with disabilities.

Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services. http://www.ed.gov/offices/OSERS/
The Web site for the Department of Education's Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS) supports programs that assist in educating children with special needs, provides for the rehabilitation of youth and adults with disabilities, and supports research to improve the lives of individuals with disabilities. Site includes links, plus guidelines for designing web pages for special needs users.

The University of Virginia Office of Special Education. http://curry.edschool.Virginia.EDU/go/specialed/
This site from the University of Virginia provides a history of special education, the laws, availability of online medical journals, definitions of disabilities, and resources to further the understanding of such disabilities, and more.

 

Top of page

 

About the Library | Finding Articles and Other Resources | Finding Reserves
For Peabody Faculty | For Peabody Students | Learning Commons

 

Heard Library | Peabody College | Vanderbilt University

 

Copyright © 2001-2008 by the Peabody Library.
Comments or questions about our Web site? Let us know.
Last updated June 2, 2005.