Peabody Library, part of the Jean and Alexander Heard Library, Vanderbilt University

Ask Us

Tell Us

ACORN · APA · ATHENA · DATABASES & EJOURNALS · HOURS · INTERLIBRARY LOAN · OAK · TUTORIALS · WEBCAM · WEBMAIL

Home > Finding Articles and Other Resources > Resource Guides > Psychology and Human Development Resource Guide


This bibliography is a selected list of sources available in the Peabody Library on the topic of Psychology and Human Development. Additional titles may be found through searches on ACORN. Subject headings include psychology, developmental psychology, adolescent psychology, child psychology, human behavior, and counseling. For a complete list of subject headings, use the Library of Congress Subject Headings.


Directories

APA Membership Register. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. Latest in Ready Reference BF 30 .A49
Provides a current record of the Association membership, including mailing addresses, telephone numbers, and membership status. Includes a separate section for newly elected members and a cross reference for names that have been changed since the previous Membership Register.

APPIC Directory: Internship and Post-Doctoral Programs in Professional Psychology. Syracuse, NY: Association of Psychology Internship Centers. Latest in Ready Reference BF 77 .D574

Directory of Counseling Services. Washington, DC: International Association of Counseling Services. Latest in Reference HF 5381 .A1 N4273
Directory of counseling services accredited by the International Association of Counseling Services. Arranged by geographic region of the U.S., each entry gives address, telephone number, hours, key staff, services offered and clientele served. Also includes a section on guidelines for counseling services seeking accreditation.

Graduate Study in Psychology. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. Latest in Ready Reference BF 77 .G73

Martin, Daniel R. and J. Richard Cookerly. A Directory of Credentials in Counseling and Psychotherapy. Boston: G.K. Hall and Co., 1989. Reference RC 440.9 .M37 1989
Provides information about training and certification standards in the field of psychotherapy. Information on licensing standards in various states is included in an appendix. Major focus is on organizations that, through a credentialing process, acknowledge the level of training and proficiency an individual has attained.

Bibliographies and Guides to the Literature

Baatz, Olga K. and Charles Albert Baatz. The Psychological Foundations of Education: A Guide to Information Sources. Detroit, MI: Gale Research Co., 1981. Z 5811 .B2

Baxter, Pam M. Psychology: A Guide to Reference and Information Services. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1993. Reference BF 121 .B398 1993

Bibliographic Guide to Psychology. New York Public Library. Boston: G. K. Hall. Reference Z 7203 .N47a
Annual volume lists publications cataloged during the past year by the Library of Congress and the Research Libraries of the The New York Public Library. Full bibliographic information is given in the main entry.

The Social Sciences: A Cross-disciplinary Guide to Selected Sources. Edited by Nancy L. Herron. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1989. Central Reference Z 7161 .S648 1996
Provides an overview of the literature of the social sciences. Divided into fields including Education, Psychology, Sociology, Anthropology, etc. Each section includes an introductory essay on the topic, then an annotated bibliography of major reference sources in that field.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Biographical Dictionary of Psychology. Edited by Noel Sheehy, Antony J. Chapman, Wendy A. Conroy. London; New York: Routledge Reference, 1997. Ready Reference BF 109 .A1 B56 1997
Presents short biographical statements on several hundred deceased psychologists and individuals from other fields who made a contribution to the development of psychology. Each entry lists biographical data; main points of theoretical contributions; philosophies held; inventions and discoveries made; methodologies initiated; books and seminal articles written, etc.

Clinical Psychology Handbook. Edited by Michel Hersen. New York: Pergamon Press, 1983. Reference RC 467 .C586 1983
First examines foundations of clinical psychology and then describes evaluation and treatment.

Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science. Edited by W. Edward Craighead and Charles B. Nemeroff. New York: Wiley, 2001. Reference BF 31 .E52 2001

Development Through Life: A Handbook for Clinicians. Edited by Michael Rutter and Dale F. Hay. Boston: Blackwell Scientific Publications, 1994. Reference RJ 131 .D437 1994

Dictionary of Behavioral Science. 2nd ed. Edited by Benjamin Wolman. San Diego, CA: Academic Press, 1989. Reference BF 31 .D48 1989
Covers all areas of psychology: psychiatry, biochemistry, psychopharmacology, and clinical practice.

Eminent Contributors to Psychology. Edited by Robert Watson. New York: Springer Publishing Co., 1974. Reference Z 7201 .W37
Volume one contains bibliographies of the major works of 500 individuals living between 1600 and 1967. Volume two contains bibliographies of 50,000 secondary sources which have cited authors listed in volume one.

Encyclopedia of Psychology. 2nd ed. Edited by Raymond Corsini. New York: John Wiley & Sons, 1994. Reference BF 31 .E52 1994
The contents fall into two groups: subject and person. Subject groups are divided into Applied, Clinical, Cognitive, Developmental, Educational, Measurement, Personality, Physiological, Social, and Theoretical. The personality section lists those, living and dead, who have made major contributions to the field.

Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology. Susan Gall, executive editor; Bernard Beins and Alan J. Feldman, contributing editors. Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1996. Reference BF 3 .G35 1996

Groth-Marnat, Gary. Handbook of Psychological Assessment. 2nd ed. New York: Wiley, 1990. Reference Index Table BF 176 .G76 1990
Purpose as stated in the introduction is to provide a reference and instructional guide for professionals and students conducting psychological assessments.

Handbook of Child Psychology. 5th ed. Edited by William Damon. New York: Wiley, 1998. Ready Reference BF 721 .H242 1998

Handbook of Clinical Child Psychology. Edited by Eugene C. Walker and Michael Roberts. New York: Wiley , 1992. Reference RJ 503.3 .H36 1992
Provides a text and reference dealing with a wide range of children's psychological problems. Divided into six sections that progress from child development to intervention strategies and special topics.

Handbook of Clinical Behavior Therapy. 2nd ed. Edited by Samuel M. Turner, Karen S. Calhoun, and Henry E. Adams. New York: Wiley, 1992. Reference RC 489 .B4 H37 1992

Handbook of Infant Development. 2nd ed. Edited by Joy Osofsky. New York: Wiley, 1987. BF 719 .H36 1987

Handbook of School Psychology. Edited by Cecil Reynolds. New York: Wiley, 1999. Reference LB 1051 .H2356
Provides an overview of research in the field. Includes sections on assessment, intervention with children and staff, legal and ethical issues. Also includes chapters on the history of school psychology and how other areas of psychology such as developmental, cognitive, behavioral, etc., have contributed. An appendix contains the National Association of School Psychologists' Principles of Professional Ethics.

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. Edited by David Sills. New York: Macmillan, Free Press, 1968-1991. Central H 40 .A2 I5 v. 1-19

International Handbook of Phobic and Anxiety Disorders in Children and Adolescents. Edited by Thomas H. Ollendick, Neville J. King, and William Yule. New York: Plenum Press, 1994. Reference RJ 506 .A58 I57 1994

Stuart-Hamilton, Ian. Dictionary of Cognitive Psychology. London; Bristol, PA: J. Kingsley, 1995. Reference BF 201 .S78 1995

Stuart-Hamilton, Ian. Dictionary of Developmental Psychology. London; Bristol, PA: Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 1995. Reference BF 712.7 .S78 1995

Yaremko, R. M., et al. Handbook of Research and Quantitative Methods in Psychology: For Students and Professionals. Hillsdale, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum, 1986. Reference BF 76.5 H363 1986
An alphabetically organized reference text for psychology and other behavioral sciences. Includes terms and concepts from research methodology, experimental design, testing and scaling, and statistics.

Additional Sources

Adams, Gerald and Thomas Gullotta. Adolescent Life Experiences. 2nd ed. Pacific Grove, CA: Brooks/Cole, 1989. HQ 796 .A246 1989

Advances in Child Development and Behavior. New York: Academic Press. BF 721 .A45

Advances in Clinical Child Psychology. New York: Plenum Press. RJ 503.3 .A37

Annual Review of Psychology. Stanford, CA: Annual Reviews. BF 30 .A56 and online (search ACORN by periodical title)

Berdie, Douglas. Questionnaires: Design and Use. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1986. Reference BF 39 .B445 1986
Stated purpose is to help readers design and use questionnaires. Examines the question "Should I use a questionnaire?" and then discusses format of the document and the questions. Includes a chapter on analyzing results, and sample questionnaires with follow-up letters and check-off lists.

A Century of Developmental Psychology. Edited by Ross D. Parke, et al. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 1994. BF 713 .C4 1994

Child Development Today and Tomorrow. Edited by William Damon. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass, 1989. BF 721 .C5153 1989

Childhood Gender Segregation: Causes and Consequences. Edited by Campbell Leaper. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1994. BF 723 .S42 C543 1994

Counseling and Psychotherapy with Children and Adolescents: Theory and Practice for School and Clinic Settings. Edited by Douglas T. Brown and H. Thompson. Brandon, VT: Clinical Psychology Publishing Co., 1989. RJ 504 .C64 1989

Crisis Intervention and Prevention. Edited by Harold L. Pruett and Vivian Brown. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1990. BF 637 .C6 C678 1990

Cultural Practices As Contexts for Development. Edited by Jacqueline J. Goodnow, Peggy J. Miller, and Frank Kessel. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1995. BF 712.5 .C858 1995

Culture, Schooling, and Psychological Development. Edited by Liliana Tolchinsky Landsmann. Norwood, NJ: Ablex Publishing Corporation, 1991. LB 1051 .C92 1990

Durrant, Michael. Creative Strategies for School Problems: Solutions for Psychologists and Teachers. New York: W.W. Norton & Co., 1995. LB 1027.55 .D87 1995

Gender in Early Childhood. Edited by Nicola Yelland. London; New York: Routledge, 1998. HQ 772 .G36 1998

Hauser, Stuart T. Adolescents and Their Families: Paths of Ego Development. New York: Free Press, 1991. HQ 796 .H3585 1991

Hyson, Marion C. The Emotional Development of Young Children: Building An Emotion-Centered Curriculum. New York: Teachers College Press, 1994. LB 1139.4 .H97 1994

Minnesota Symposia on Child Psychology. Minneapolis, MN: University of Minnesota Press. Education Stacks classed separately (This means each volume has a separate title and call number. To see a listing of titles in this series, do a title search in Acorn for: Minnesota Symposia on Child Psychology.)

Monographs of the Society for Research in Child Development. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press. Education Stacks classed separately (This means each volume has a separate title and call number. To see a list of titles in this series, do a title search in Acorn for: Monographs of the Society for Research.)

The Psychoeducational Assessment of Preschool Children. Edited by Bruce A. Bracken. Norwood, NJ: Ablex Boston : Allyn and Bacon, 2000. LB 1115 .P963 2000

Thomas, R. Murray. Counseling and Life-span Development. Newbury Park, CA: Sage, 1990. BF 637 .C6 T493 1990

Ward, William D. Applied Behavior Analysis in the Classroom: The Development of Student Competence. Springfield, IL: C. C. Thomas, 1991. LB 1060.2 .W37 1991

Indexes and Abstracts

Child Development Abstracts and Bibliography. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press. Reference Index Table HQ 750 .A1 C47

Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press. Reference Index Table Z 5813 .C8 (Current records on library network as part of the ERIC database.)

Psychological Abstracts. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. Reference Index Table BF 1 .P65 (Current records on library network as PsycInfo.)

Periodicals

American Psychologist. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. Periodicals

Applied & Preventive Psychology: Journal of the American Association of Applied and Preventive Psychology. New York: Cambridge University Press. Periodicals

Child Development. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press. Periodicals

Counseling Psychologist. St. Loius, MO: Division of Counseling Psychology, APA. Periodicals and also Online.

Developmental Psychology. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. Periodicals

Human Development. New York: Karger. Periodicals and also Online

Infant Behavior and Development. Norwood, NJ: Ablex Publishing Co. Periodicals

Journal of Clinical Child Psychology. St. Louis, MO: Section on Clinical Child Psychology, APA. Periodicals and also Online

Journal of Personality and Social Psychology. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. Periodicals

Monitor on Psychology: A publication of the American Psychological Assocation. Washington, DC: The Association , 1999. Periodicals and also Online

Internet Resources

Child and Family News Web Guide. http://www.cfw.tufts.edu
This site describes and evaluates web sites that contain research-based information about child development.

Doctoral Psychology Programs Meeting Designation Criteria. http://www.nationalregister.org/designate.htm
This publication lists "doctoral programs in psychology that meet the 'Guidelines for Defining "Doctoral Degree in Psychology"' developed at the 1977 Education and Credentialing in Psychology meeting."

Psyc Web. Created and maintained by Russell A. Dewey, Ph.D.
http://www.psywww.com
Comprehensive site of psychology-related information for students and teachers of psychology.

PsycNET. The American Psychological Association. http://www.apa.org/
An excellent place to begin exploring sources in psychology available on the Internet.

Yahoo. http://dir.yahoo.com/Social_Science/Psychology/Branches/
The Yahoo Web directory maintains subcategories for child and developmental psychology in addition to many other subdisciplines. These are excellent starting points for exploration of resources for psychology on the web.

 

Top of page

 

About the Library | Finding Articles and Other Resources | Finding Reserves
For Peabody Faculty | For Peabody Students | Learning Commons

 

Heard Library | Peabody College | Vanderbilt University

 

Copyright © 2001-2008 by the Peabody Library.
Comments or questions about our Web site? Let us know.
Last updated October 8, 2004.