Peabody Library, part of the Jean and Alexander Heard Library, Vanderbilt University

site index · search help

ACORN · APA · ATHENA · DATABASES & EJOURNALS · INTERLIBRARY LOAN · KUDZU · OAK · TUTORIALS · WEBCAM · WEBMAIL

Home > Finding Articles and Other Resources > Resource Guides > Peabody College Resource Guide


This is a list of resources on the history of Peabody College of Education and Human Development that are located at Peabody Library. Other resources are located in Special Collections and University Archives. Please ask library staff if you need assistance.


Books

Academic Profiles in Higher Education. Edited by James J. Van Patten. E. Mellen Press, 1992.
LA 227.4 .A32 1992
Includes a chapter about George Peabody.

Chapple, William Dismore. George Peabody. Peabody Museum, 1933.
HV 28 .P4 C5

Conkin, Paul Keith. Gone with the Ivy : A Biography of Vanderbilt University. Knoxville: University of Tennessee Press, 1985.
LD 5588 .C66 1985

Conkin, Paul Keith. Peabody College: From a Frontier Academy to the Frontiers of Teaching and Learning. Nashville: Vanderbilt University Press, 2002.
LB 2193 .N297 C66 2002

Crabb, Alfred L. Genealogy of George Peabody College for Teachers Covering a Period of One Hundred and Fifty Years.1935.
LB 1960 .N42 C7

Dillingham, George A. The Foundation of the Peabody Tradition. University Press of America, 1989.
LB 1960 .N42 D55 1989

Dorn, Sherman. A brief history of Peabody College. Nashville, TN: Peabody College of Vanderbilt University, 1996.
LB 1960 .N42 D676 1996

Force, William W. Payne of Peabody: An Apostle of Education: A Portrait of Bruce Ryburn Payne, President of George Peabody College for Teachers, 1911-1937. W. W. Force, 1985.
LA 2317 .P39 F672 1985

George Peabody College for Teachers: Its Evolution and Present Status, September, 1912. George Peabody College for Teachers, 1912.
378.768 PE2

Hanaford, Phebe. The Life of George Peabody; Containing a Record of Those Princely Acts of Benevolence Which Entitle Him to the Esteem and Gratitude of All Friends of Education and the Destitute, Both in America, the Land of His Birth, and in England, the Place of his Death. B. B. Russell, 1870.
HV 28 .P4 H2 1870 vault

Hidy, Muriel. George Peabody, Merchant and Financier: 1829-1854. Arno Press, 1979.
HF 3032 .P38 H52 1979

Kramer, Rita. Ed School Follies: The Miseducation of America's Teachers. The Free Press, 1991.
LB 1715 .K64 1991
Includes a chapter devoted to Peabody and a mention of Willis Hawley's contribution to teacher education (p.7).

McCann, Bess. The Faculty of George Peabody College for Teachers, 1914-1936. George Peabody College for Teachers, 1936.
LB 17 .V35232 C266 1936

Miller, Jack. Independent Study and Doctoral Projects at George Peabody College for Teachers: 1965-1976. The College, 1976. LB 1960 .N26 A62

Parker, Franklin. George Peabody, 1795-1869: Founder of Modern Philanthropy. George Peabody College for Teachers, 1955.
HV 28 .P4 P3

Parker, Franklin. George Peabody: A Biography. Rev. ed. Vanderbilt University Press, 1995.
HV 28 .P4 P29 1995

The Past is prologue: Peabody Demonstration School, 1915-1970. The 1969-70 American Problems Class, Philip Mintz [and others]. Nashville, TN: Peabody Demonstration School, 1970.
LD 7501.N22 P3

Ransom, Nancy A. A Comparative History of Faculty Women at George Peabody College for Teachers and Vanderbilt University, 1875 to 1970. George Peabody College for Teachers, 1988.
LB 5 .G42 no. 691

Wills, Lynette A. H. Peabody Women Doctorates: 1961-1975. Peabody College for Teachers, 1978.
LB 5 .G4 no. 125

Windrow, John E. Peabody and Alfred Leland Crabb: The Story of Peabody as Reflected in Selected Writings of Alfred Leland Crabb. Williams Press, 1977.
LB 1960 .N42 C72

Directories, Handbooks

Alumni Directory of Peabody College, 1877-1909. Alumni Association of Peabody College, 1909.
LB 1960 .N25 P3 1909

Alumni Directory. College and University Press, 1982.
LB 1960 .N26 G467 1982

Directory. George Peabody College for Teachers.
LB 1960 .N26 A348 1955, 1961, 1975/76 vault

Handbook for Staff Personnel of George Peabody College for Teachers. The College, 1977.
LB 1960 .N26 A5 1977

Official Directory Faculty and Staff. George Peabody College for Teachers.
378.768 PFo

Official Directory. Faculty and Staff. George Peabody College for Teachers.
378.768 PFo

Official Directory. George Peabody College for Teachers.
LB 1960 .N26 A38 1956, 1958-1960

Peabody College Faculty Handbook. The College, 1969.
LB 1960 .N26 A565 1969

Peabody Directory. Computer Composition, Inc.
LB 1960 .N26 A348 1971/72

Student, Faculty, Staff Directory. Scholarship Committee of the Student Council, 1962.
LB 1960 .N26 A348 1962/63, 1963/64-1970/71, 1974/75-1979

Undergraduate Handbook. George Peabody College for Teachers of Vanderbilt University.
LB 1960 .N26 A5378 1981

Bulletins, Catalogs, Yearbooks

(Bulletins and General Catalogs are arranged chronologically; other entries are alphabetical.)

Bulletin of Vanderbilt University: Peabody College. Vanderbilt University.
LB 1960 .N26 A34 (1980/81-1987/88)

General Catalog. George Peabody College for Teachers.
LB 1960 .N26 A34

Bulletin. George Peabody College for Teachers.
378.768 PHI 1912-1950 (v. 1 - v. 8), 1951-1965 (v.1 - v. 15, Series 3)

Bulletin. Peabody College for Teachers.
378.768 PH 1902-1910/11 (v. 1- v. 11)

George Peabody College for Teachers. Program and Services.
LB 1960 .N26 A665

Pillar.
LB 1960 .N26 P5
The Pillar succeeds the Garnet and Blue as the yearbook for Peabody. There were no yearbooks between the last Garnet and Blue (in 1908) and the first Pillar (in 1949).

Garnet and Blue.
Early Peabody yearbooks from the first decade of the 20th century, when Peabody Normal School was on the old University of Nashville campus. The most recent year held is 1908.

Schedule of Classes. George Peabody College for Teachers.
LB 1960 .N26 A34 1966/67-1977/78

Schedule of Courses. George Peabody College for Teachers.
LB 1960 .N26 A345 1975/76-1979, 1982-current

School of Library Science. Bulletin. George Peabody College for Teachers.
LB 1960 .N26 A345 1970/72-1977/78, 1979

Summer at Peabody. George Peabody College.
LB 1960 .N26 A342 1967-1979

Vanderbilt in Summer. Vanderbilt University.
LB 1960 .N26 A4 1982, 1983

Commencement Programs

Commencement Programs, Invitations, Etc., 1877-1929. George Peabody College for Teachers.
378.768 PKco vault

George Peabody College for Teachers Commencement Programs. George Peabody College for Teachers.
LB 1960 .N26 A48

Overseas Commencement. George Peabody College for Teachers of Vanderbilt University.
LB 1960 .N26 A482 1976-1979, 1981

Vanderbilt University. Commencement/Vanderbilt. Vanderbilt University.
Reference LD 5593. V35 1980-1987, 1989-current

Speeches

Commemoration Day: Friday, May 12, 1899. Peabody Normal College, 1899.
LB 1960 .N26 A5373

Fiftieth Anniversary of the Founding of George Peabody College for Teachers, February 18-20, 1925. George Peabody College for Teachers, 1925.
378.768 PE
(collection of newspaper clippings - in poor condition)

Payne, William Harold. Chancellor's Address at the Opening of the Fifteenth Session of the Peabody Normal College: October 2, 1889.
378.768 NK3c

Proceedings on the Presentation of Three Portraits to the Peabody Normal College. University of Nashville, October 3, 1888.
LB 1960 .N25 P349

Winthrop, Robert C. Eulogy Pronounced at the Funeral of George Peabody at Peabody, Massachusetts, 8 February, 1870. Press of John Wilson and Sons, 1870.
HV 28 .P4 W5

Audio

Historic Moments in Peabody's History, July 26, 1967. George Peabody College for Teachers, 1967.
Cassette 63

Reports

Annual Report to the Committee on Accreditation of the American Library Association.
LB 1960 .N26 A618 1981/82-1983/84

Design for the Future: A Report From the Select Committee on Peabody's Second Century to President John Dinsworth and the Board of Trustees. George Peabody College for Teachers, 1974.
378.76855 .G293d

First Follow-Up Report for the Institutional Self-Study Program. George Peabody College for Teachers, 1976.
LB 1960 .N26 A613

Peabody College Looks Ahead: Report of the Committee of Eleven. George Peabody College for Teachers, 1946.
378.768 Pm1

Report of the President of Peabody College.
LB 1960 .N26 A3 vault 1902-1903, 1928, 1929, 1936/37-1937/38, 1941/42-1948/49, 1952-1975/76

Progress Report of the Committee of Eleven. April 19, 1946. George Peabody College for Teachers, 1946.
378.768 Pm

Report to the Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education.
LB 1960 .N26 A683

Responses to Report of Visiting Committee: Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. George Peabody College for Teachers, 1975.
LB 1960 .N26 A685

Self Study. The College, 1975.
LB 1960 .N26 A6 1974, 1980

Semi-Centennial of George Peabody College for Teachers 1875-1925. George Peabody College for Teachers, 1925.
378.768 PEI

Vanderbilt and Peabody Program as Developed by the Faculties and Approved by the Administrators.
378.768 V283

Periodicals

Peabody Journal of Education. v. 1-11, 13-31, 33- and online (search ACORN by periodical title)

Peabody Post. v. 1 (1947/48), v. 6 (1952)- v. 32 (1978/79)

Peabody Record. v. 1 (1892/93)-v. 10 (1901/02), v. 12 (1903/04)- v. 18 (1909/10)

Peabody Reflector. Summer Supplement. v. 1 (1950)- v. 15 (1964)

Peabody Reflector. v. 1 (1927/28)-v. 59(1985/87)

Peabody Views the Current Scene. v. 1 no. 1 (1963) - v. 5, no. 2 (1973) (Shelved with the Peabody Reflector)

Internet Resources

George Peabody College Finding Aids. Vanderbilt University Special Collections and University Archives.
http://www.library.vanderbilt.edu/speccol/subjectguide.shtml#G

George Peabody College Historical Information. Virtual Reading Room, Vanderbilt University Special Collections and University Archives.
http://www.library.vanderbilt.edu/speccol/vrr/peabody.shtml

History of the Peabody College Library. The Peabody Library.
http://www.library.vanderbilt.edu/peabody/about/history.html

 

Top of page

 

About the Library | Finding Articles and Other Resources | Finding Reserves
For Peabody Faculty | For Peabody Students | Learning Commons

 

Heard Library | Peabody College | Vanderbilt University

 

Copyright © 2001-2007 by the Peabody Library.
Comments or questions about our Web site? Let us know.
Last updated October 8, 2004.