Peabody Library, part of the Jean and Alexander Heard Library, Vanderbilt University

Ask Us

Acorn   ·   APA   ·   Databases & EJournals   ·   Hours   ·   Interlibrary Loan   ·   OAK   ·   Resource Guides   ·   Tutorials   ·   Webmail

Home > Finding Articles and Other Resources > Resource Guides > International and Comparative Education Resource Guide


This is a selected list of items available in the Peabody Library that address issues of education in settings outside the United States or offer comparisons among education systems around the world. Additional titles can be found by searching the library catalog, ACORN, using the keywords "comparative education" or "education and cross-cultural."


Directories

Commonwealth Universities Yearbook. London: Association of Commonwealth Universities. Annual. Ready Reference LB 2310 .Y5
A directory of universities in countries of the British Commonwealth. Each country has a descriptive essay on its system of higher education, its history and current statistics. Describes programs and lists faculty for each university.

International Handbook of Universities (1993). New York: Walter de Gruyter, 1993-. Latest in Ready Reference L 900 .I58 15th ed.

The World of Learning. London: Allen & Unwin. Annual. Central Latest in Ready Reference AS 2 .W6 and Online (use of this database outside the libraries requires a VUNet ID and password)
A directory of universities, research centers, museums, and other educational institutions around the world.

Handbooks, Encyclopedias, and Dictionaries

Educational Research, Methodology and Measurement: An International Handbook. 2nd ed. Edited by J.P. Keeves. New York: Pergamon, 1997. Reference LB 1028 .E3184 1997

Handbook of World Education: A Comparative Guide to Higher Education and Educational Systems of the World. Edited by Walter Wickremasinghe, et al. Houston, TX: American Collegiate Service, 1991. Ready Reference LB 43 .H36 1991

International Encyclopedia of Adult Education and Training. 2nd ed. Edited by Albert C. Tuijnman. Oxford, UK; Tarrytown, NY: Pergamon, 1996. Reference LC 5215 .I586 1996

International Encyclopedia of Curriculum. Edited by Arieh Lewy. Oxford, UK; Tarrytown, NY: Pergamon, 1991. Reference LB 1570 .I5676 1991
Contains chapters describing the history and state of school curricula in several countries.

International Encyclopedia of National Systems of Education. 2nd ed. Edited by T. Neville Postlethwaite. Tarrytown, NY: Pergamon, 1995. Ready Reference LB 43 .I584 1995

International Handbook of Early Childhood Education. Edited by Gary A. Woodill, Judith Bernhard, and Lawrence Prochner. New York: Garland, 1992. Ready Reference LB 1139.23 .I68 1992
Describes the state of child care, preschool education and primary education around the world.

International Handbook of Educational Change. Edited by Andy Hargreaves, et al. Boston,: Kluwer Academic Publishers, 1998. Ready Reference LC 71.2 .I58 1998

International Handbook of Educational Leadership and Administration. Edited by Kenneth Leithwood, et al. Boston: Kluwer Academic, 1996. Reference LB 2805 .I454 1996

International Handbook of Teachers and Teaching. Edited by Bruce J. Biddle, Thomas L. Good, Ivor F. Goodson. Boston,: Kluwer Academic Publishers, 1998. Reference LB 1775 .I56 1998

International Handbook of Women's Education. Edited by Gail P. Kelly. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989. Reference LC 1411 .I47 1989

Additional Sources

Altbach, Philip G. Comparative Higher Education: Knowledge, the University, and Development. Greenwich, CT: Ablex Pub. Corp.,1998. LB 2322.2 .A48 1998

Brint, Steven G. Schools and Societies. Thousand Oaks: Pine Forge Press, 1998. LC 191.4 .B75 1998

Comparative Studies in Special Education. Edited by Kas Mazurek and Margret A. Winzer. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press, 1994. LC 3965 .C54 1994

Education in Comparative Perspective: New Lessons from Around the World. Edited by York W. Bradshaw. Leiden ; New York: E.J. Brill, 1997.LB 43 .E39 1997

Emergent Issues in Education: Comparative Perspectives. Edited by Robert F. Arnove, Philip G. Altbach, and Gail P. Kelly. Albany, NY: State University of New York Press, 1992. LB 43 .E46 1992

Ferment in Education: A Look Abroad. Edited by John J. Lane. Chicago, IL: National Society for the Study of Education: University of Chicago Press, 1995. LB 43 .F47 1995

Higher Education in an International Perspective : Critical Issues. Edited by Zaghloul Morsy and Philip G. Altbach. New York: Garland Pub., 1996. LB 2322.2 .H53 1996

Higher Education Policy: An International Comparative Perspective. Edited by Leo Goedegebuure, et al. New York: Pergamon Press, 1994. LC 171 .H54 1994

International Comparisons of Expenditures for Education. Washington, DC: National Center for Education Statistics, 1998 Government Documents ED 1.302: EX 7

International Education Indicators: A Time Series Perspective. Edited by Stephane Balde, et al. Washington, DC: National Center for Education Statistics, 2000. Government Documents Reference ED 1.302:IN 2/2/98-995

International Perspectives on Education and Society. Edited by Sally Tomilson. Greenwich, CT: JAI Press Inc., 1988-1994. LC 189.8 .I57 Vol. 1 (1988)-4 (1994)

International Perspectives on Educational Reform and Policy Implementation. Edited by David S.G. Carter and Marnie H. O'Neill. Washington, DC: Falmer Press, 1995. LC 71 .I496 1995

Quality Assurance in Higher Education: An International Perspective. Edited by Gerald H. Gaither. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass Publishers, 1998. LB 2806.22 .Q355 1998

Reagan, Timothy G. Non-Western Educational Traditions : Alternative Approaches to Educational Thought and Practice. Mahwah, NJ: L. Erlbaum Associates, 1996. LB 43 .R43 1996

Stigler, James W. The Teaching Gap: Best Ideas from the World's Teachers for Improving Education in the Classroom. New York: Free Press, 1999. QA 13 .S77 1999

Women's Education in Developing Countries: Barriers, Benefits, and Policies. Edited by Elizabeth M. King and M. Anne Hill. Baltimore and London: The Johns Hopkins University Press, published for the World Bank, 1993. LC 2572 .W67 1993

Periodicals

Comparative Education. Oxford, England: Carfax Publishing Co., 1964- Periodicals and also online (search ACORN by periodical title)

Comparative Education Review. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1957-. Periodicals

Internet

Comparative and International Education Society (CIES). http://www.journals.uchicago.edu/CIES/
Founded in 1956 to foster cross-cultural understanding, scholarship, academic achievement and societal development through the international study of educational ideas, systems, and practices. The site contains basic information about the Society and its activities, plus links to other resources.

 

Top of page

 

About the Library | Finding Articles and Other Resources | Finding Reserves
For Peabody Faculty | Learning Commons

 

Heard Library | Peabody College | Vanderbilt University

 

Copyright © 2001-2010 by the Peabody Library.
Comments or questions about our Web site? Let us know.
Last updated October 8, 2004.