Peabody Library, part of the Jean and Alexander Heard Library, Vanderbilt University

site index · search help

ACORN · APA · ATHENA · DATABASES & EJOURNALS · INTERLIBRARY LOAN · KUDZU · OAK · TUTORIALS · WEBCAM · WEBMAIL

Home > Finding Articles and Other Resources > Resource Guides > Grants Resource Guide


Resources from ACORN

Charitable Uses, Trusts, and Foundations

When you select this link, a list of records in ACORN that have subject headings beginning with the phrase "charitable uses, trusts, and foundations" will appear.

Educational Fund Raising

When you select this link, a list of records in ACORN that have subject headings beginning with the phrase "educational fund raising" will appear.

Endowment of Research

When you select this link, a list of records in ACORN that have subject headings beginning with the phrase "endowment of research" will appear.

Endowments

When you select this link, a list of records in ACORN that have subject headings beginning with the word "endowments" will appear.

Federal Aid to Education

When you select this link, a list of records in ACORN that have subject headings beginning with the phrase "federal aid to education" will appear.

Government Aid to Education

When you select this link, a list of records in ACORN that have subject headings beginning with the phrase "government aid to education" will appear.

Grants-in-Aid

When you select this link, a list of records in ACORN that have subject headings beginning with the phrase "grants-in-aid" will appear.

Proposal Writing for Grants

When you select this link, a list of records in ACORN that have subject headings beginning with the phrase "proposal writing for grants" will appear.

Proposal Writing in Education

When you select this link, a list of records in ACORN that have subject headings beginning with the phrase "proposal writing in education" will appear.

Scholarships

When you select this link, a list of records in ACORN that have subject headings beginning with the word "scholarships" will appear.

*****

Internet Resources

Grant Funding

Administration for Children and Families (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services [DHHS]) Grants and Contracts has links to funding opportunities including grants, contracts, and other assistance available to eligible organizations and individuals, as well as grant-related forms and documents.

Alfred P. Sloan Foundation funds science and technology, standard of living and economic performance, education and careers in science and technology, and selected national issues.

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) This web site gives you access to a database of all Federal programs available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); federally-recognized Indian tribal governments; Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi-public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals.

Center for Faith-based and Community Initiatives (DHHS) does not have funding available specifically for faith-based providers, nor will there be a separate fund established from the HHS Center. HHS discretionary grants are awarded competitively in response to program announcements and other requests for proposals or applications published by the Department in either the Federal Register or the NIH Guide for Grants and Contracts.

Council on Foundations helps foundation staff, trustees, and board members in their grantmaking activities through one-to-one technical assistance, research, publications, conferences and workshops, legal services, and other services.

Department of Education Grants Information

Department of Housing and Urban Development Grants

e-Grants This is the Department of Education's (ED) portal site for electronic grants. From e-GRANTS you may access all of the Department's web-based grant systems.

Ewing Marion Kaufmann Foundation awards funding that encourages entrepreneurship and education.

FedBizOpps FedBizOpps.gov is the single government point-of-entry (GPE) for Federal government procurement opportunities over $25,000. Government buyers are able to publicize their business opportunities by posting information directly to FedBizOpps via the Internet.

The Foundation Center supports institutional philanthropy by promoting public understanding of the field and assisting grantseekers.

Grant Advisor Plus includes more than 200 links to federal and foundation sources of funding.

Grants.gov This is a portal for grants information.

National Endowment for the Humanities Grant Programs and Deadlines. NEH is an independent grant-making agency of the United States government dedicated to supporting research, education, preservation, and public programs in the humanities.

National Institute of Child Health & Human Development has the mission to ensure that every person is born healthy and wanted, that women suffer no harmful effects from the reproductive process, and that all children have the chance to fulfill their potential for a healthy and productive life, free of disease or disability.

National Institute for Literacy Grants and Contracts Forecast of Funding Opportunities. This Forecast indicates possible upcoming National Institute for Literacy (NIFL) acquisitions.

National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders The management of the extramural porfolio of grants and coordination of extramural research efforts is conducted by three branches: The Hearing and Balance/Vestibular Branch, the Voice, Speech, Language, Smell and Taste Branch and the Clinical Trials Branch.

National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) Funding Opportunities contains information on NIMH grants and contracts programs including grant applications and review, RFAs, RFPs, ongoing program announcements, research training and career development, small business programs, program analyses of NIMH extramural research grants & applications, access to NIH Grants policy, NIH Guide to Grants & Contracts, and the CRISP database.

National Institutes of Health Grants & Funding Opportunities

National Science Foundation Funding. NSF initiates and supports, through grants and contracts, scientific and engineering research and programs to strengthen scientific and engineering research potential, and education programs at all levels, and appraises the impact of research upon industrial development and the general welfare.

Social Science Research Council sponsors interdisciplinary programs focused on specific areas of research, on building new fields, and on the education and training of researchers. Council programs also support the development of institutional bases for social science around the world, and work to strengthen collaboration and communication among researchers.

Society of Research Administrators International Grants Web is a nonprofit association dedicated to advancing the profession and improving the efficiency and effectiveness of research administration.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) Funding Opportunities.

Vanderbilt University Division of Sponsored Research

Grant Funds Awarded

CRISP (Computer Retrieval of Information on Scientific Projects) is a searchable database of federally funded biomedical research projects conducted at universities, hospitals, and other research institutions. The database, maintained by the Office of Extramural Research at the National Institutes of Health, includes projects funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services (SAMHSA), Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDCP), Agency for Health Care Research and Quality (AHRQ), and Office of Assistant Secretary of Health (OASH).

Department of Education Award Postings

Ewing Marion Kaufmann Foundation

Ford Foundation Grants Awarded Database

NSF Awards

Rockefeller Foundation

SAMHSA Awards

 

Additional Sources

Brewer, Ernest W. Finding Funding: Grantwriting from Start to Finish, Including Project Management and Internet Use. 4th ed. Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin Press, 2001. Peabody LB2825 .F522 2001

Geever, Jane C. The Foundation Center's Guide to Proposal Writing. 4th ed. New York: The Foundation Center, 2004. Peabody HG177.5 .U6 G44 2004

Gerin, William. Writing the NIH Grant Proposal: A Step-by-Step Guide. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2006. Peabody RA11 .D6 G47 2006

Levenson, Stanley. Big Time Fundraising for Today's Schools. Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin Press, 2007. Peabody LC243 .L488 2007

Miner, Jeremy T. and Lynn E. Miner. Models of Proposal Planning & Writing. Westport, CT: Praeger, 2005. Peabody HG177.5 .U6 M558 2005

Morris, James McGrath and Laura Adler, ed. Grant seekers' Guide: Foundations that Support Social & Economic Justice. 6th ed. Wickford, RI : Moyer Bell, 2005. Peabody HV97 .A3 G73 2005

Online Evaluation Resource Library was developed for professionals who need to design, conduct, document, or review project evaluations. OERL is funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF).

Ward, Deborah, ed. Writing Grant Proposals that Win. 3rd ed. Sudbury, MA : Jones and Bartlett Publishers, 2006. Peabody HG177 .H35 2006

 

Top of page

 

About the Library | Finding Articles and Other Resources | Finding Reserves
For Peabody Faculty | For Peabody Students | Learning Commons

 

Heard Library | Peabody College | Vanderbilt University

 

Copyright © 2001-2007 by the Peabody Library.
Comments or questions about our Web site? Let us know.
Last updated February 8, 2007 by Sharon Weiner.