Home > Finding Articles and Other Resources > Resource Guides > Children's Literature Resource Guide
This resource guide lists a sampling of materials available in the Peabody Library related to the study or and use in the home or classroom of literature written for children. You can locate more resources by searching ACORN using the following subject searches: children's stories, children's literature, children books and reading, youth books and reading. To find books written for children, do an advanced keyword search with "juvenile" in the subject field and keywords apporiate to topic of your choice in the words or phrase field.
Directories
Children's Media Market Place. Edited by Dolores Jones. New York: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 1995. Reference Z 479 .C45 1995
Directory of sources of books, films, records, tapes and other media for children. Includes names and addresses of publishers, distributors, periodicals, bookstores, museums, and other sources of information.
Sharkey, Paulette Bochnig. Newbery and Caldecott Medal and Honor Books in Other Media. New York: Neal-Schuman, 1992. Reference PN 1009 .A1 S537 1992
Smith, Laura. Children's Book Awards International: A Directory of Awards and Winners, From Inception Through 1990. Jefferson, NC: McFarland and Company, 1992. Reference PN 1009 .A1 S598 1992
Adamson, Lynda. A Reference Guide to Historical Fiction for Children and Young Adults. New York: Greenwood Press, 1987. Reference Z 1037 .A267 1987
Alphabetical arrangement of entries for authors and titles as well as names of places, characters, and battles from historical fiction.
Cullinan, Bernice V. Continum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature. New York: Continum, 2001. Reference PN 1008.5 .C66 2001
Helbig, Alethea and Agnes R. Perkins. Dictionary of British Children's Fiction: Books of Recognized Merit. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989. Reference PR 830 .C513 H4 1989
Helbig, Alethea and Agnes R. Perkins. Dictionary of American Children's Fiction. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1985-. Reference PS 374 .C454 H45
Three volumes, spanning 1859-1989. Entries on titles, authors, characters and settings of books for children which have won or been finalists for major awards.
High/Low Handbook: Encouraging Literacy in the 1990s. Compiled and edited by Ellen V. LiBretto. New York: Bowker, 1990. Reference Z 1039 .S5 H54 1990
Citations of material with a wide range of reading levels and interest levels for the student with poor reading skills and/or low interest.
International Companion Encyclopedia of Children's Literature. Edited by Peter Hunt; associate editor, Sheila Ray. London; New York: Routledge, 1996. Reference PN 1008.5 .I57 1996
Reference Books for Young Readers. Edited by Marion Sader. New York: Bowker, 1988. Reference Z 1037.1 .R43 1988
Information on how to select encyclopedias, atlases, dictionaries and other reference books for young people.
Research & Professional Resources in Children's Literature; Piecing a Patchwork Quilt. Edited by Kathy G. Short. Newark, DL: International Reading Association, 1995. Reference PN 1009 A1 R475 1995
Stott, Jon. Children's Literature From A to Z. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1984. Reference PR 990 .S76 1984
Encyclopedia with information on authors, awards, particular folktales and literary terms.
Vries, Leonard de. A Treasury of Illustrated Children's Books: Early Nineteenth Century Classics from the Osborne Collection. New York: Abbeville Press, 1989. Reference Z 1037 .V75 1989
Allen, Marjorie N. One Hundred Years of Children's Books in America: Decade by Decade. New York: Facts On File, 1996. Reference PS 490 .A38 1996
Ammon, Bette D. and Gale W. Sherman. More Rip-Roaring Reads for Reluctant Teen Readers. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimted, 1999. Reference Z1037 .S524 1999
Battling Dragons: Issues and Controversy in Children's Literature. Edited by Susan Lehr. Portsmouth, HN: Heinemann, 1995. PN 1009 .A1 B36 1995
Beacham's Guide to Literature for Young Adults. Edited by Kirk H. Beetz and Suzanne Niemeyer. Washington, DC: Beacham, 1989-. Reference Z 1037 .A1 B42 1989, v.1-v.9
A multi-volume compilation of more than 200 analytical essays on and study activities for fictional and biographical works written for young adults. Includes a short biography for the author of each analyzed work.
Bernstein, Joanne and Rudman, Masha. Books to Help Children Cope With Separation and Loss: An Annotated Bibliography. Vol. 3. New York: Bowker, 1989. Reference Z 1037 B476 1989
Best Books for Children: Preschool through Grade 6. Edited by John T. Gillespie and Corinne J. Naden. New York: Bowker, 1998. Reference Z 1037 .B547 1998
Best Books for Junior High Readers. Edited by John T. Gillespie. New Providence, NJ: Bowker, 1991. Reference Z 1037 .B546 1991
Best Books for Senior High Readers. Edited by John T. Gillespie. New Providence, NJ: Bowker, 1991. Reference Z 1037 .G483 1991
Brown, Muriel. Newbery and Caldecott Medal and Honor Book Winners: Bibliographies and Resource Material Through 1991. Detroit, MI: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 1992. Reference PN 1009 .A1 B769 1991
Carlin, Margaret F. and others. Understanding Abilities, Disabilities, and Capabilities: A Guide to Children's Literature. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited 1991. Reference Z 1037.9 .C36 1991
Carter, Betty. Best Books for Young Adults; The Selections, The History, The Romance. Chicago: American Library Association, 1994. Reference PN 1009 .A1 C378 1994
Characters in Young Adult Literature. Edited by John T. Gillespie, Corinne J. Naden, et al. Detroit, MI: Gale, 1997. Reference Z 1037 .A1 G47 1997
Cianciolo, Patricia J. Picture Books for Children. Chicago: American Library Association, 1997. Reference Z 1037 .C565 1997
Dreyer, Sharon Spredemann. The Best of Bookfinder: A Guide to Children's Literature about Interests and Concerns of Youth Aged 2-18. Circle Pines, MN: American Guidance Service, 1992. Reference PN 1009 .A1 D749 1992
From Biography to History: Best Books for Children's Entertainment and Education. Edited by Catherine Barr. New Providence, NJ: R.R. Bowker, 1998. Reference Z5301 .F76 1998
Gillespie, John T. and Corinne J. Naden. Juniorplots 4: A Book Talk Guide for Use with Readers, Ages 12-16. New Providence, NJ: Bowker, 1992. Reference Z 1037 .A1 G498 1992
Guide to Non-Sexist Children's Books, Vol. II: 1976-1985. Edited by Dennis Wilms. Chicago: Academy Press, 1987. Reference Z 1037 .A1 W64 1987
Fiction and nonfiction books arranged by suggested grade level. Each entry gives a brief description of the book, author's name, publisher and price.
Hall, Susan. Using Picture Storybooks to Teach Literary Devices: Recommended Books for Children and Young Adults. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1990. Z 1037 .H23 1990 Vols. 1 & 2
Hartman, Donald K. Historical Figures in Fiction. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1994. Reference PN 3441 .H378. 1994
Hit List: Frequently Challenged Books for Young Adults. Prepared by the Intellectual Freedom Committee of the Young Adult Library Services Association; with the assistance of Merri M. Monks and Donna Reidy Pistolis. Chicago, IL: American Library Association, 1996. Reference Z 1019 .H68 1996
Horner, Catherine. The Single-Parent Family in Children's Books. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1988. Reference Z 1037 .H7793 1988
Annotated bibliography on fiction and non-fiction books for children about single parent families. Sections on divorce/desertion/separation, widowhood, unwed mothers, orphans, and others.
Jones, Raymond E. Characters in Children's Literature. Detroit, MI : Gale, 1997. Reference Z 1037 .A1 J78 1997
Kaywell, Joan F. Adolescents At Risk: A Guide to Fiction and Nonfiction for Young Adults, Parents, and Professionals. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1993. Reference PS 643 .K399 1993
Kennedy, DayAnn M., Stella S. Spangler and Mary Ann Vanderwerf. Science & Technology in Fact and Fiction: A Guide to Children's Books.
New York: Bowker, 1990. Reference Z 0137 .K466 1990.
An annotated bibliography about children's books on science and technology providing an overview of present day technology and speculations on future developments.
Kutenplon, Deborah and Ellen Olmstead. Young Adult Fiction by African American Writers, 1968-1993: A Critical and Annotated Guide. New York: Garland, 1996. Reference PS 153 .N5 K88 1996
Lima, Carolyn. A to Zoo: Subject Access to Children's Picture Books. New York: Bowker, 1998. Reference PR 990 .L563 1998
Lists picture books on various subjects. Includes author and title indexes.
Lundin, Anne H. and Carol W. Cubberley. Teaching Children's Literature: A Resource Guide with a Directory of Courses. PN 1008.8 .L86 1995
Lynn, Ruth. Fantasy Literature for Children and Young Adults. 3rd ed. New York: Bowker, 1995. Reference Z 1037 .L97 1995
An annotated bibliography of 3,300 fantasy novels and story collections for children and young adults in grades 3 through 12. Intended for use by librarians, teachers, parents and students in children's and young adult literature courses.
Magazines for Kids and Teens. Edited by Donald R. Stoll. Glassboro, NJ: Educational Press Association of America, 1997. Reference PN 4878 .M343 1997
Marantz, Sylvia. The Art of Children's Picture Books: A Selective Reference Guide. New York: Garland, 1995. Reference PN 1009 A1 M373 1995
Bibliography of information sources on children's picture books. Includes sources on the history of picture books, how picture books are made, artists and criticism.
Marantz, Sylvia. Picture Books for Looking and Learning: Awakening Visual Perceptions Through the Art of Children's Books. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1992. Reference N 7430.5 .M28 1992
More Exciting, Funny, Scary, Short, Different, and Sad Books Kids Like About Animals, Science, Sports, Families, Songs, and Other Things. Edited by Frances Laverne Carroll and Mary Meacham. Chicago: American Library Association, 1992. Reference PN 1009 .A1 M673 1992
Pistolis, Donna Reidy. Hit List: Frequently Challenged Books for Children. Chicago, IL: American Library Association, 1996. Reference Z1019 .P57 1996
Rasinkski, Timothy V. and Cindy S. Gillespie. Sensitive Issues: An Annotated Guide to Children's Literature, K-6. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1992. Reference Z 1037 .R23 1992
Reading In Series: A Selection Guide to Books for Children. Edited by Catherine Barr. New Providence, NJ : R.R. Bowker, 1999. Reference PS 374 .C454 R36 1999
Roberts, Patricia, Nancy L. Cecil and Sharon Alexander. Gender Positive!: A Teachers' and Librarians' Guide to Nonstereotyped Children's Literature, K-8. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co., 1993. Reference LB 1575 .R63 1993
Rochman, Hazel. Against Borders: Promoting Books for a Multicultural World. Chicago: American Library Association, 1993. Reference PN 1009 .A1 R634 1993
Russell, David L. Literature for Children: A Short Introduction. 3rd ed. New York: Longman, 1997. PN 1009 .A1 R87 1997
Samuels, Barbara B. and B. Kylene Beers. Your Reading: A Booklist for Middle School and Junior High. Urbana, IL: National Council of Teachers of English, 1996. Reference Z 1037 .Y68 1996
Stott, Jon C. Native Americans in Children's Literature. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1995. Reference PS 173 .I6 S76 1995
They Wrote for Children Too: An Annotated Bibliography of Children's Literature by Famous Writers for Adults. Compiled by Marilyn Fain Apseloff. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989. Reference Z 1037 .A6 1989
Thomas, James L. Play, Learn, and Grow: An Annotated Guide to the Best Books and Materials for Very Young Children. New Providence, NJ: Bowker, 1992. Reference PN 1009 .A1 T466 1992
Vandergrift, Kay E. Children's Literature: Theory, Research, and Teaching. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1990. Z 1037 .A1 V36 1990
Wilkin, Binnie Tate. Survival Themes in Fiction for Children and Young People. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1993. Reference Z 1037 .W67 1993
Authors & Artists for Young Adults. Vols. 1-33. Edited by Agnes Garret. Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1989-. Reference PN 452 .A973
Aimed at the young adult reader (jr.-senior high), gives the reader information on current popular authors and artists.
Authors and Illustrators of Children's Books: Writings on their Lives and Works. Compiled by Miriam Hoffman. New York: Bowker, 1972. Reference PN 1009 .A1 H58
Biographical essays on children's authors and illustrators, as well as descriptions and criticism of their work.
Children's Authors and Illustrators. 4th ed. Edited by Joyce Nakamura. Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1987. Reference Z 1037 .A1 N18 1987
Index to biographical information on 25,000 authors and illustrators of children's books.
Children's Books and Their Creators. Edited by Anita Silvey. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1995. Reference PN 1009 .A1 C5122 1995
Collier, Laurie, and Joyce Nakamura. Major Authors and Illustrators for Children and Young Adults: A Selection of Sketches from Something About the Author. Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1992. Reference PN 497 .M356 1992
Dictionary of Literary Biography, vol. 22: American Writers for Children 1900-1960. Edited by John Cech. Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1983. Reference PS 490 .A43 1983
Dictionary of Literary Biography, vol. 42: American Writers for Children Before 1900. Edited by Glenn Estes. Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1985. Reference PS 490 .A44 1985
Dictionary of Literary Biography, vol. 61: American Writers for Children Since 1960: Poets, Illustrators, and Nonfiction Authors. Edited by Glenn Estes. Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1987. Reference PS 490 .A45 1987
Each volume contains biographical sketches of authors, illustrators or poets; bibliographies of each individual's works; and descriptions and critical analyses of each individual's works.
Loertscher, David V. Biographical Index to Children's and Young Adult Authors and Illustrators. Castle Rock, CO: Hi Willow Research and Publishing, 1992. Reference Z 1037 .A1 L597 1992
Newbery and Caldecott Medal Books 1976-1985. Edited by Lee Kingman. Boston, MA: Horn Book, 1986. Reference Z 1037 .A2 N49 1986
Acceptance papers of Newbery and Caldecott winners along with biographical sketches.
Newbery and Caldecott Medalists and Honor Book Winners. Edited by Jim Roginski. New York: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 1992. Reference PN 1009 .A1 B769 1991
Arranged by author; lists awards won and bibliographies of their other works.
Rollock, Barbara. Black Authors and Illustrators of Children's Books: A Biographical Dictionary. New York: Garland, 1992. Reference PN 1009 .A1 R655 1992
Biographical sketches of 115 black authors and illustrators of children's books. Each entry includes a select bibliography of the individual's works.
Something About the Author Autobiography Series. Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1986. Reference PN 497 .S66
Autobiographical essays by current writers and artists of children's books.
Something about the Author. Detroit,MI: Gale Research, 1986- . Reference PN 451 .S66 v.1-
Biographical information on authors and illustrators of children's books. Originally each annual volume contained an index which covered itself and all previous volumes. Recently that has been changed to inclusive indexes in every other volume.
Writers for Children: Critical Studies of major Authors Since the Seventeenth Century. Edited by Jane M. Bingham. New York: Scribner's, 1987. Reference PN 1009 .A1 W73 1988
Critical essays on selected classics in children's literature. Covers authors from the seventeenth century to the early twentieth century.
Writers for Young Adults: Biographies Master Index. 2nd ed. Edited by Adele Sarkissian. Detroit, MI: Gale, 1984. Reference Z 1037 .A1 W74
Index to sources of biographical materials about children's authors.
Children's Book Review Index: Master Cummulation. Detroit, MI: Gale Research. Reference Index Table Z 1037 .A1 C4754
Index to published reviews of about 55,000 children's books. Volumes 1-5 are a master cumulation of years 1965-1984. Beginning with 1985 an annual volume is published.
Children's Books In Print. New York: Bowker, annual. Reference Index Table Z 1037 .A1 C482
Author, title, illustrator and subject indexes to children's books currently in print. Each entry gives title, author or editor, publisher, date, price, number of pages, ISBN, and physical description (paperback, illustrated, library binding).
Children's Literature Abstracts. Birmingham, England: International Federation of Library Associations. Reference (Index Table IIA) Z 1037 .C5446, no. 1- .
Abstracts of published articles about children's literature, including subject bibliographies.
Children's Literature Review. Vol. 1- . Detroit, MI: Gale Research. Reference Index Table PN 1009 .A1 C5139
Excerpts of published reviews of contemporary children's books along with bibliographic citations so that the reader can find the full review. Also includes biographical information on authors and illustrators.
Master Index to Summaries of Children's Books. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1985. Reference Z 1037 .P46 1985, vols. 1-2
Tells where to find summaries of children's books. Volume one is arranged by author or editor, and volume two is a title index.
Young Adult Book Review Index. Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1987. Reference Z 1037 .Y67
Index to reviews of books for young adults.
Alan Review. Athens, GA: Assembly on Literature for Adolescents, 3 times per year. Periodicals
Bookbird. Vienna, Austria: International Board on Books for Young People and the International Institute for Children's, Juvenile and Popular Literature, quarterly. Periodicals and also Online
International in scope, each issue includes articles on facets of children's literature, reviews of children's books, and reviews of professional literature.
Booklist. Chicago: American Library Association, bimonthly. Periodicals and also Online.
Each issue contains a section of reviews on the latest books for children and young people. Frequently includes bibliographies of foreign language children's books.
Children's Literature in Education. New York: APS Publications, quarterly. Periodicals
International in scope, includes scholarly and practical articles on children's literature as well as annotated subject bibliographies of children's books.
Horn Book Magazine. Boston, MA: Horn Book, 6 per year. Periodicals and Online
Includes scholarly articles and essays plus reviews. One of the most reputable sources of reviews of children's books.
Kliatt Young Adult Paperback Book Guide. Newton, MA: Kliatt Young Adult Paperback Book Guide. Periodicals
Each issue contains reviews of books, arranged subject categories, for young people.
School Library Journal: SLJ . New York: Bowker, monthly. Periodicals and Online
Articles plus reviews of children's software, audiovisuals and books.
The Lion and the Unicorn. New York: Dept. of English, Brooklyn College, annual. Periodicals and also Online
Each issue is devoted to one genre, theme or aspect of children's literature. Includes book reviews, articles and criticisms.
VOYA: Voice of Youth Advocates. Tuscaloosa, AL: VOYA, monthly. Periodicals
Contains articles, news and reviews of books for young adults.
Wilson Library Bulletin. New York: H.W. Wilson, monthly. Periodicals
Each issue includes a section on reviews of children's and young adults' books.
Children's Picture Book Database
Ubbes, VA. & Miami University Libraries. (1996 - 2000). The children's picture book database at miami university: A bibliography for designing literature-based thematic units searchable by topics, concepts, and skills. Oxford, OH. Available URL: http://www.lib.muohio.edu/pictbks/
The CPBD is a curriculum development resource which contains abstracts of over 4000 picture books. Users can search the database by prescribed keyword or through a Boolean combination search.
The Children's Literature Web Guide
David K. Brown. Doucette Library of Teaching Resources, University of Calgary, 1999
The Children's Literature Web Guide (http://www.ucalgary.ca/~dkbrown/) is an attempt to gather together and categorize the growing number of Internet resources related to books for Children and Young Adults.
Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site
Carol Hurst and Rebecca Otis, 1999
This website (http://www.carolhurst.com/) is a collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics. Many of Carol Hurst's articles and sections from her professional books for teachers and librarians have been interlinked them to create an interactive collection of information.
About the Library | Finding Articles and Other Resources | Finding Reserves
For Peabody Faculty | For Peabody Students | Learning Commons
Heard Library | Peabody College | Vanderbilt University
Copyright © 2001-2008 by the Peabody Library.
Comments or questions about our Web site? Let us know.
Last updated September 20, 2004.
