[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
Library Catalogs
ACORN
KUDZU 
ATHENA
WorldCat
Other Catalogs
 
Databases
Articles & Databases
E-Journal Locator
Find an Article
E-Books
Reference Tools
Government Info
Internet Search Engines
 
Services
Renew Materials
Interlibrary-Loan
Find Reserves
Place On Reserve
Copyright Clearance
Request Forms
Computers
 
Research Assistance
?Ask Us
Getting Started
Find an Article
Find Theses/Dissertations
Subject Guides
Subject Librarians
 

Citing Sources

The ethics of research demands that writers be credited for their work and their writing. Not to do so is to plagiarize, to intentionally or unintentionally appropriate the ideas, language, key terms, or work of another without sufficient acknowledgment that such material is not one's own.

The following information is intended to help you understand how to cite the sources you have used to write your paper.

Citing sources within the text of your paper
:

Whenever you quote, paraphrase, summarize, or otherwise refer to the work of another, you are required to cite its source, either by way of parenthetical documentation or by means of a footnote. Please consult the appropriate style manual, most of which are available in the library’s reference collection, or listed below, to determine the exact format and style you will need to use for your paper.

Citing sources at the end of your paper:

Most style manuals require you to assemble a list of the works that you have cited in your paper. This list, included at the end of your paper, is called "works cited" in MLA style, or a "reference list" by the APA, or as a "bibliography" by Turabian. For guidelines on how to document other materials not represented here, please consult the appropriate style manual, available in the library’s reference collection, or on the list below.

Online style guides:

Both Modern Language Association (MLA) and American Psychological Association (APA) examples are available.

A brief online version of The Columbia Guide to Online Style also gives examples for citing networked resources only.

Book guides:

A locally compiled list of style guides is available: Style Guides for Writing

Gibaldi, Joseph. MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
. 5th ed. New York: MLA, 1999.
(Central Ref LB2369 .G53 1999 [Bookcase-1]; also at Peabody Ref LB2369 .G53 1999 [Ready-Ref])

This handbook is based on the MLA Style Manual is intended as an aid for college students writing research papers. Included here is information on selecting a topic, researching the topic, note taking, the writing of footnotes and bibliographies, as well as sample pages of a research paper. Useful for the beginning researcher.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. 5th ed. Washington: APA, 2001.
(Central Ref BF 76.7 .P83 2001 [Bookcase-1]; also at Biomedical and Peabody Ref.)

The authoritative style manual for anyone writing in the field of psychology. Useful for the social sciences generally. Its chapters discuss the content and organization of a manuscript, writing style, the American Psychological Association citation style, and typing, mailing and proofreading.

Walker, Janice R., and Todd W. Taylor. The Columbia Guide to Online Style. New York: Columbia UP, 1998.
(Central Ref PN 171 .F56 W35 1998 [4th Floor]; also at Law and Peabody)

Turabian, Kate L. A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations. 6th ed, Univ. of Chicago Press, 1996. (Central Ref. LB 2369 .T8 1996 - Bookcase - 1) and other campus libraries.

Updated August 2002

Campus Libraries: Biomedical | Central | Divinity | Law | Management | Music | Peabody | Science & Engineering | Special Collections | TV News
Vanderbilt University | Phone Numbers/Addresses of Campus Libraries | Privacy Policy
Jean and Alexander Heard Library, 419 21st Avenue South, Nashville, TN 37203-2427
Telephone 615-322-7100 | Fax 615-343-8279