[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
Library Catalogs
ACORN
KUDZU 
ATHENA
WorldCat
Other Catalogs
 
Databases
Articles & Databases
E-Journal Locator
Find an Article
E-Books
Reference Tools
Government Info
Internet Search Engines
 
Services
Renew Materials
Interlibrary-Loan
Find Reserves
Place On Reserve
Copyright Clearance
Request Forms
Computers
 
Research Assistance
?Ask Us
Getting Started
Find an Article
Find Theses/Dissertations
Subject Guides
Subject Librarians
 

Choosing a Topic and Testing It

The first step in the research process is to choose a topic. In some cases your instructor may assign a topic to you or to your research group. Other times you may have the opportunity to choose a topic from a list. The ideal situation is to be able to pick a topic that interests you.

If you haven't chosen a topic yet, you may want to try 1) to discuss your topic ideas with your class instructor, 2) discuss your topic ideas with a reference librarian (you may want to set up an appointment, if your project is lengthy), or 3) scan the following titles in the Central Library's Reference collection or online: CQ Researcher [CQ Researcher online], Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Controversial Issues (various locations), and Editorials on File (Central Ref. D 839 .E3). See also Keesing's Contemporary Archives (Central Ref. D 410 .K4).

Another method is to look at the index and the article titles in a specialized encyclopedia that covers the subject area or discipline of your topic (for example, psychology, United States social history, women's studies, linguistics, environmental studies, etc.). For help locating an appropriate encyclopedia for your subject, consult a Reference Librarian.

First state your topic or research idea as a question. For example, if you are interested in finding out about the controversy surrounding grade inflation in American colleges and universities, you might pose the question, "How has grade inflation affected academic standards in America's college and universities?"

Identify the main concepts or keywords in your question. In this case they are: grade inflation, academic standards, colleges and universities, students, grading, etc.

The next step in the process is to test the main concepts or keywords in your topic by looking them up in the appropriate background sources or by using them as search terms in the Acorn Library Catalog and/or in periodical indexes.

If you are finding too much information and too many sources, narrow your topic by using the "and" Boolean operator such as: grades and inflation and standards and academic, for example.

Finding too little information may indicate that you need to broaden your topic. For example, look for information on students, rather than college students. Link synonymous search terms if you can. Using truncation characters with search terms also broadens the search and increases the number of items you find.

Once you have identified and tested your topic, you're ready to take the next step and find background information on your research topic.

Back to Getting Started With Your Research main page.


Updated August 2002
Campus Libraries: Biomedical | Central | Divinity | Law | Management | Music | Peabody | Science & Engineering | Special Collections | TV News
Vanderbilt University | Phone Numbers/Addresses of Campus Libraries | Privacy Policy
Jean and Alexander Heard Library, 419 21st Avenue South, Nashville, TN 37203-2427
Telephone 615-322-7100 | Fax 615-343-8279