Home > Finding Articles and Other Resources > Resource Guides > Child and Youth Study Resource Guide
This resource guide is a selected list of current reference books, periodicals, indexes, general texts, and sites (links highlighted) that provide information on research, resources and issues affecting children and young adults.
Directories
National Directory of Children, Youth and Families Services. Longmont, CO: Marion L. Peterson. Latest in Ready Reference HV 741 .N3157
Lists services by state, county, and major city agencies and services. Also has a section on national resource centers and one on national organizations for children and parents.
National Guide to Funding for Children, Youth and Families. Edited by James E. Baumgartner. New York: Foundation Center. Ready Reference HV 741 .N3164
Raising our Future: Families, Schools, and Communities Joining Together: A National Resource Guide of Family Support and Education Programs for Parents, Educators, Community Leaders, and Policy Makers. Cambridge, MA: Harvard Family Research Project, 1995. Reference HV 699 .R35 1995
Handbooks, Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Adolescence in America: An Encyclopedia. 2 vols. Edited by Jacqueline V. Lerner and Richard M. Lerner. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2001. Reference HQ 796 .A33247 2001
The APSAC Handbook on Child Maltreatment. Edited by John Briere, et al. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications,1996. Reference HV 6626.5 .A83 1996
Experts in a variety of specialized areas have designed each chapter to inform professionals in mental health, law, medicine, law enforcement, and child protective services of the most current empirical research and literature available as well as strategies for intervention and prevention.
Boyhood in America: An Encyclopedia. 2 vols. Edited by Priscilla Ferguson Clement and Jacqueline S. Reinier. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2001. Reference HQ 775 .B635 2001
Child Psychology: A Handbook of Contemporary Issues. Edited by Lawrence Balter and Catherine S. Tamis-LeMonda. Philadelphia, PA: Psychology Press, 1999. Reference BF 721 .C5155 1999
Encyclopedia of Adolescence. 2 vols. Edited by Richard Lerner and others. New York: Garland Pub., 1991. Reference HQ 796 .E58 1991
The Encyclopedia contains more than 200 entries, in alphabetical order and cross-referenced. The brief entries are written by specialists from the sciences, humanities, and arts but for a multidisciplinary audience. Each entry includes a list of representative references and citations to more detailed information.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood and Adolescence. Jerome Kagan, executive editor; Susan B. Gall, managing editor. Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1998. Ready Reference HQ 772 .G27 1998
Girlhood in America: An Encyclopedia. 2 vols. Edited by Miriam Forman-Brunell. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2001. Reference HQ 777 .G5745 2001
Handbook of Adolescent Death and Bereavement. Edited by Charles A. Corr and David E. Balk. New York: Springer, 1996. BF 724.3 .D43 H26 1996
Addresses the challenges faced by adolescents when coping with death, dying, and bereavement. The volume is organized into three parts. Part I addresses specific issues involved in confrontations with death. Part II focuses on the role of bereavement. Part III explains specific therapeutic interventions for caregivers.
Handbook of Child Psychology. 4 vols. Edited by William Damon. New York: John Wiley & Sons, 1998. Ready Reference BF 721 .H242 1998
Handbook of Crisis Counseling, Intervention, and Prevention in the Schools. Edited by Jonathan Sandoval. 2nd ed. Mahwah, N.J.: L. Erlbaum Associates, 2002. LB 1027.55 .C74 2002
Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children. Edited by Bernard Spodek. New York: Macmillan, 1993. Ready Reference LB 1119. H25 1993
International Handbook of Phobic and Anxiety Disorders in Children and Adolescents. Edited by Thomas H. Ollendick, Neville J. King, and William Yule. New York: Plenum Press, 1994. Reference RJ 506 .A58 I57 1994
Statistical Handbook on Adolescents in America. Edited by Bruce A. Chadwick and Tim B. Heaton. Phoenix, Ariz.: Oryx Press, 1996. Ready Reference HQ 796 .S8237 1996
Taublieb, Amy Beth. A to Z Handbook of Child and Adolescent Issues. Boston: Allyn and Bacon, 2000. Reference BF 721 .T38 2000
Bibliographies and Guides to the Literature
Peltzman, Barbara R. Pioneers of Early Childhood Education: A Bio-Bibliographical Guide. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1998. Reference LB 1139.23 .P45 1998
Resources for Developmentally Appropriate Practice: Recommendations from the Profession. Edited by Gail Perry and Mary S. Duru. Washington, D.C.: National Association for the Education of Young Children, 2000. Reference Z 5814 .P6 R48 2000
Additional Sources
Adolescent Psychiatry. Hillsdale, NJ: The Analytic Press. RJ 499 .A1 A29
Each annual volume in this series presents papers on a variety of adolescent psychiatry topics. Recent volumes include groups of papers on school-based mental health services, psychopathology in adolescence, and ADHD and conduct disorders.
Astin, Alexander W., et al. The American Freshman: Thirty Year Trends, 1966-1996. Los Angeles, CA: Higher Education Research Institute, Graduate School of Education & Information Studies, University of California, Los Angeles, 1997. Ready Reference LA 230 .A456 1997
Boucher, C. Robin. Students in Discord : Adolescents with Emotional and Behavioral Disorders. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1999. LC 4802 .B68 1999
Provides overviews of classes of disorders (e.g., personality disorders, disruptive behavior disorders, eating disorders, etc.) and then individual chapters on specific instances of those disorders (for personality disorders, for example, there are chapters on borderline personality disorder and antisocial personality tendency). Combines theoretical and practical information.
Building new futures for at-risk youth : findings from a five year, multi-site evaluation. Washington, DC: The Center for the Study of Social Policy, 1995. HV 1431 .B855 1995
Children At Risk in America: History, Concepts, and Public Policy. Edited by Roberta Wollons. Albany, NY: State University of New York Press, 1993. HV 741 .C536138 1993
Children in the States Data Book. Washington, DC: Children's Defense Fund. Ready Reference HV 741 .C53615 1998
Children in Time and Place: Developmental and Historical Insights. Edited by Glen H. Elder, Jr., John Modell, and Ross D. Parke. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1993. HQ 792 .U5 C432 1993
Children of Poverty: Research, Health, and Policy Issues. Edited by Hiram E. Fitzgerald, Barry M. Lester and Barry Zuckerman. New York: Garland, 1995. HV 741 .C53616 1995
Drug Use by American Young People Begins to Turn Downward / University of Michigan, News and Information Services. Ann Arbor: The University of Michigan News and Information Services, 1998. Reference HV 5824 .D788 1998
Early Care and Education for Children in Poverty: Promises, Programs, and Long-Term Results. Edited by W. Steven Barnett and Sarane Spence Boocock. Albany: State University of New York Press, 1998. LC 4091 .E24 1998
Hart, Betty and Todd R. Risley. Meaningful Differences in the Everyday Experience of Young American Children. Baltimore, MD: Paul H. Brookes, 1995. LB 1139 .L3 H279 1995
The differences in the amount of early family experience translate into striking disparities in the children's later vocabulary growth rate, vocabulary use, and IQ test scores - critical measures of an individual's ability to
succeed at school and in the workplace. Hart and Risley's decades of collaboration reveals profound effects of environment on development.
Hernandez, Donald J. America's Children: Resources from Family, Government, and the Economy. New York: Russell Sage Foundation, 1993. HQ 792 .U5 H47 1993
Hoghughi, Masud. Assessing Child and Adolescent Disorders: A Practical Manual. London: Sage Publications, 1992. RJ 506 .B44 H6 1992
Hostile Hallways: The AAUW Survey on Sexual Harassment in America's Schools. Commissioned by the American Association of University Women Educational Foundation; researched by Harris/Scholastic Research. Washington, DC: The Foundation, 1993. LC 212.82 .H678 1993
Indicators of Children's Well-Being. Edited by Robert M. Hauser, Brett V. Brown, and William R. Prosser. New York: Russell Sage Foundation, 1997. HV 741 .I537 1997
Kamerman, Sheila B. and Alfred J. Kahn. Starting Right: How America Neglects Its Youngest Children and What We Can Do About It. New York: Oxford University Press, 1995. HQ 778.63 .K36 1995
Kids Count Data Book. Washington, DC: Center for the Study of Social Policy, 1990-. Latest in Ready Reference HQ 792 .U5 K53 (1999 edition) and Online (2002 edition)
Provides facts on the status of America's children using eight different measures of child and adolescent health, education, social and economic well-being. Information is comparable between states and contains charts,
graphs and statistics.
Kronick, Robert F., and Charles H. Hargis. Dropouts: Who Drops Out and Why--and the Recommended Action. 2nd ed. Springfield, Ill.: C.C. Thomas, c1998. LC 143 .K76 1998
Monitoring the Future: National Survey Results on Drug Use. 2 vols. Bethesda, Md.: National Institute on Drug Abuse: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health. Ready Reference HV 5824 .Y68 N385 1975/2000
1994-95 National Summary: United States Grades 6-12. PRIDE.
Bowling Green, KY: National Parents' Resource Institute for Drug Education, 1995. Reference HV 5824 .Y68 A15 1995
Summary of PRIDE surveys on U.S. students grades 6-12 and drug use. Surveys were conducted during the1994-95 school year with 198,241 students from 32 states.
Psychosocial Disorders in Young People: Time Trends and Their Causes. Edited by Michael Rutter and David J. Smith. Chichester, West Sussex, England ; New York : Published for Academia Europaea by J. Wiley, 1995. BF 724 .P76 1995
Reason to Hope: A Psychosocial Perspective on Violence and Youth. Edited by Leonard D. Eron, Jacquelyn H. Gentry and Peggy Schlegel. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 1994. HV 1431 .R42 1994
Sanders, Rickie, and Mark T. Mattson. Growing Up in America: An Atlas of Youth in the USA. New York: Macmillan Library Reference USA; London: Prentice Hall International, 1998. Reference HB 1323 .C52 U649 1998
Schneider, Dona. American Childhood: Risks and Realities. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 1995. HQ 792 .U5 S36 1995
Smoking among American teens declines some / University of Michigan, News and Information Services. Ann Arbor: The University of Michigan News and Information Services, 1998.Ready Reference HV 5745 .S565 1998
The State of America's Children Yearbook. Washington, D.C.: Children's Defense Fund, 1994-. Ready Reference HV 741 .C5375 1998
Statistical Record of Children. Detroit: Gale Research, 1994-. Ready Reference HQ 767.8 .S73 1st ed.
Stein, Nan D. Classrooms and Courtrooms: Facing Sexual Harassment in K-12 Schools. New York: Teachers College Press/Columbia University, 1999. LC 212.82 .S72 1999
Violence and Youth: Psychology's Response. American Psychological Association Commision on Violence and Youth. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 1993. HN 90 .V5 1993
Youth at Risk: A Prevention Resource for Counselors, Teachers, and Parents. Edited by David Capuzzi and Douglas R. Gross. 3rd ed. Alexandria, Va.: American Counseling Association, 2000. HV 1431 .Y68 2000
Indexes and Abstracts
Child Development Abstracts and Bibliography. Chicago: University of Chicago Press for the Society for Research in Child Development. Reference Index Shelves HQ 750 .A1 C47
The basic index to assist scholars involved with child development, education welfare, and related matters. Over 180 journals are indexed. Book reviews are provided in each issue, followed by a list of titles.
ERIC. Boston : SilverPlatter Information Services, 1986-. Online
Corresponds to two printed indexes: the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) and Resources in Education (RIE). CIJE indexes and abstracts about 780 social and behavioral education-related journals, including foreign journals. Includes an alphabetic journal-contents index and a source-journals index that lists the names and addresses of periodical publishers and price information. RIE includes resumes of hard-to-find or limited distribution documents selected by ERIC clearinghouses located throughout the country. Indexed by author and institution and by subject descriptors selected from the Thesaurus of Eric Descriptors.
Exceptional Child Education Resources.Reston, VA: Council for Exceptional Children. Reference Index Shelves Z 5814 .C52 E9
Abstracts of research articles on handicapped and gifted children.
Psychological Abstracts. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. Reference Index Shelves BF 1 .P65 and Online as part of PsycInfo
Basic tool for researchers concerned with the psychological aspects of learning and education. Provides summaries and citations of relevant documents and articles from 1000 journals on psychology and related areas.
Periodicals
(The most recent volumes of these journals will be found in the Current Periodicals area on the main floor of the library. Older volumes are bound or on microfiche/microfilm. All are shelved by title. Check ACORN for holdings and location information.)
Adolescence. Roslyn Heights, NY: Libra Publishers. Periodicals and Online
Presents original research in all aspects of the teenage years - educational, social, psychological and physical.
Child Study Journal. Buffalo, NY: Faculty of Behavioral & Humanistic Studies, SUNY at Buffalo. Periodicals
A scholarly journal presenting research from all disciplines of child study.
Children and Youth Services Review. Elmsford, NY: Pergamon Press. Periodicals and Online
Interdisciplinary journal presenting research on service programs for children and youth.
Children Today.Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services. Older issues in Periodicals; current issues at the Biomedical Library; some backfile issues Online
Interdisciplinary journal presenting popularly written articles on children, youth and families. Also includes news and reports in the area of child study.
Contemporary Issues in Early Childhood.Wallingford, UK: Triangle Journals. Online
Early Childhood Research Quarterly. Norwood, NJ: Ablex Publishing Corp. Periodicals
Sponsored in part by the ERIC Clearinghouse on Elementary and Early Childhood Education, this journal includes research articles on aspects of the care and nurture of children from birth through eight years of age.
International Journal of Early Childhood. New York: World Organization for Early Childhood Education. Older issues in Periodicals; more recent articles Online
Includes articles in French, Spanish, and English presenting information and data on the education and care of children from birth to seven years old.
Journal of Early Adolescence. Tucson, AZ: H.E.L.P., Inc. Periodicals and Online
Includes articles presenting original research in the psychological and educational development of individuals ten to fourteen years of age.
Youth and Society. The Woodlands, TX: Sage Publications. Periodicals and Online
Focuses on the study of youth socialization processes.
Government Documents
Youth Indicators: Trends in the Well-Being of American Youth.
Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Education. Office of Educational Research and Improvement. Reference Documents ED 1.327: and Online
Charts, graphs and statistics on the welfare of youth in the United States. Sections include "Demographics and Family Composition," "Family Income," "Education," "Youth Employment and Finances," and "Health,
Behavior, and Attitudes."
Online Resources
The Administration for Children and Families (ACF). U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. http://www.acf.dhhs.gov/
ACF brings together in one organization the broad range of Federal programs that address the needs of children and families.
Alan Guttmacher Institute. http://www.agi-usa.org/
"The Alan Guttmacher Institute (AGI) is a non-profit organization focused on reproductive health research, policy analysis and public education" (from their About page). Their web site includes statistics, policy papers, special publications, and occasional reports on teen pregnancy and childbirth.
CASA Publications. The National Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse at Columbia University list of publications on the Web at http://www.casacolumbia.org/absolutenm/templates/article.asp?articleid=320&zoneid=52.
Centers for Disease Control main website. http://www.cdc.gov. Also published by the CDC:
- Health Topic: Infants and Children: http://www.cdc.gov/health/nfantsmenu.htm
Topics range from disability to disease to injury. - Health Topic: Adolescent and Teen: http://www.cdc.gov/health/adolescent.htm
- National Center for Injury Prevention and Control Bibliography 1997 lists articles, books, conference proceedings, and Internet sites on injury prevention. Found at http://www.cdc.gov/ncipc/pub-res/bibl1997.htm
- Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS): http://www.cdc.gov/nccdphp/dash/yrbs/index.htm
Child & Family WebGuide. Tufts University. http://www.cfw.tufts.edu/
This site "describes and evaluates web sites that contain research-based information about child development" (from About This Site page).
Child Trends. http://www.childtrends.org/
"Child Trends is a nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to studying children, youth, and families through research, data collection, and data analyses" (from Background page). Site includes Research Briefs, Fact Sheets, links to sites on such topics as welfare and poverty and teen pregnancy, and so on.
The Children, Youth and Family Consortium. The University of Minnesota. http://www.cyfc.umn.edu/
Providing a pathway to information related to the health, education and welfare of children, youth and families. Contains information on topics of interest to parents, educators, human service providers, researchers, and policy makers.
Zero to Three. http://www.zerotothree.org
The mission of Zero to Three is to bring parents, caregivers and professionals direct access to the latest findings in early child development.
About the Library | Finding Articles and Other Resources | Finding Reserves
For Peabody Faculty | For Peabody Students | Learning Commons
Heard Library | Peabody College | Vanderbilt University
Copyright © 2001-2008 by the Peabody Library.
Comments or questions about our Web site? Let us know.
Last updated June 2, 2005.
