Home > Finding Articles and Other Resources > Resource Guides > Counseling Resource Guide
This resource guide is a selected list of current books, periodicals, and electronic information available on the topic of counseling, as it is related to education, psychology, and human resource studies. Most materials listed are located in the Peabody Library; exceptions are noted.
Directories
Directory of American Youth Organizations. Minneapolis, MN: Free Spirit. Latest in Ready Reference HS 3260 .U5 D57
Hines, Virginia K. The North American Directory of Programs for Runaways, Homeless Youth and Missing Children.Washington, DC: American Youth Work Center, 1988. Reference HV 1431 .H564 1988
Martin, Daniel R. and J. Richard Cookerly. A Directory of Credentials in Counseling and Psychotherapy. Boston, MA: G.K. Hall, 1989. Reference RC 440.9 .M37 1989
National Directory of Children, Youth & Families Services. Longmont, CO: Marion L. Peterson, 1991-. Latest in Ready Reference HV 741 .N315
Peterson's Drug and Alcohol Programs and Policies at Four-year Colleges. Edited by Janet Carney Schneider and Bunny Porter-Shirley. Princeton, NJ: Peterson's Guides, 1989. Reference HV 5128 .U5 P48 1989
Handbooks/Guides
The AMA Handbook for Developing Employee Assistance and Counseling Programs. Edited by Dale A. Masi. New York, NY: AMACOM, 1992. Managemment HF 5549.5 .E42 A53 1992
Coyle, Susan L. The NIDA HIV Counseling and Education Intervention Model: Intervention Manual. Rockville, MD: National Institute on Drug Abuse, Division of Clinical Research, Community Research Branch, U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, National Institutes of Health, 1993. Central Government Documents HE 20.8208:H 88
Gordon, Virginia N., Wesley R. Habley, and Associates. Academic Advising: A Comprehensive Handbook. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2000. LB 2343 .G638 1992
Handbook of Consultation Services for Children: Applications in Educational and Clinical Settings. Edited by Joseph E. Zins, Thomas R. Kratochwill, and Stephen N. Elliott. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass, 1993. BF 637 .C56 H26 1993
Handbook of Counselling Psychology. Edited by Ray Woolfe and Windy Dryden. London: SAGE, 1996. Central BF 637 .C6 H316 1996
The Handbook of Family-School Intervention: A Systems Perspective. Edited by Marvin J. Fine and Cindy Carlson. Boston: Allyn and Bacon, 1992. LC 4802 .H36 1992
Idol, Lorna. Special Educator's Consultation Handbook. Austin, TX: Pro-Ed, 1992. LC 4019 .I36 1992
Komives, Susan R., Dudley B. Woodard, Jr., and associates. Student Services: A Handbook for the Profession, 3rd ed. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1996. Reference LB 2342.9 .K65 1996
MacDonald, Kathy, Ian Lambie, and Les Simmonds. Counselling for Sexual Abuse: A Therapist's Guide to Working With Adults, Children, and Families. Melbourne; New York: Oxford University Press, 1995. Central RC 560 .S44 M244 1995
Mordock, John B. Counseling the Defiant Child: A Basic Guide to Helping Troubled and Aggressive Youth. New York : Crossroad, c1994. Divinity HV 715 .M67 1994
Myrick, Robert D. Developmental Guidance and Counseling: A Practical Approach. Minneapolis, MN: Educational Media Corp., 1987. LB 1027.5 .M934 1987
Page, Jacquelyn F. The Counselor's Guide to Understanding the World of Persons Who are Disabled. Nashville, TN: George Peabody College for Teachers of Vanderbilt University, 1989. LB 5 .G43 no.216
Pita, Dianne Doyle. Addictions Counseling: A Practical Guide to Counseling People with Chemical and Other Addictions. New York: Continuum, 1992. RC 564 .P58 1992
Periodicals
(These journals are all held in the Peabody Library's Periodicals Collection, shelved alphabetically by title in the stacks or on microfiche. Some items are also online. Access to online items is restricted to Vanderbilt students, faculty, and staff.)
The American Journal of Family Therapy. Brunner/Mazel. Also Online
Counseling and Values. American Personnel and Guidance Association.
International Journal of Family Counseling. Transaction Periodicals Consortium.
Journal of College Student Development. American College Personnel Association.
Journal of Counseling and Development: JCD. American Association for Counseling and Development. Also Online
Journal of Marriage and Family Counseling. American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors.
Journal of Mental Health Counseling. American Mental Health Counselors. Also Online
Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development. Association for Multicultural Counseling and Development.
Additional Sources
Blocher, Donald H. Counseling: A Developmental Approach. New York: John Wiley, 2000. BF 637 .C6 B48 2000
The Changing Family Life Cycle: A Framework for Family Therapy, 2nd ed. Edited by Betty Carter and Monica McGoldrick. Boston, MA: Allyn and Bacon, 1989. HQ 536 .C417 1989
Corey, Gerald. Theory and Practice of Counseling and Psychotherapy. Pacific Grove, CA: Brooks/Cole Pub. Co., 1991. BioMedical 3rd Floor WM55 C797t 1991
Counseling. Washington, DC: Job Corps, 1991. Central Govt. Info. L 37.8:So 1/counse
Counseling Across Cultures. Edited by Paul B. Pederson, et al. Honolulu: University of Hawaii Press, 1989. Divinity BF 637 .C6 L63 1989
Counseling and Guidance in the Schools: Three Exemplary Guidance Approaches. Edited by Garry R. Walz and Thomas I. Ellis. Washington, DC: NEA Professional Library, National Education Association, 1992. LB 1027.5 .C652 1992
Counseling and Psychotherapy with Children and Adolescents: Theory and Practice for School and Clinic Settings, 2nd ed. Edited by Douglas T. Brown and H. Thompson Prout. Brandon, VT: Clinical Psychology Pub. Co., 1989. RJ 504 .C64 1989
Counselor Preparation: Programs, Faculty, Trends. 10th ed., 1999-2001. Philadelphia: Accelerated Development, 2000. Reference L 901 .C85 1999/2001
Crisis Intervention and Prevention. Edited by Harold L. Pruett and Vivian B. Brown. San Francisco; Oxford: Jossey-Bass Inc., 1990. BF 637 .C6 C678 1990
Crompton, Margaret. Children and Counselling. London: E. Arnold, 1992. HV 713 .C766 1992
Draucker, Claire Burke. Counseling Survivors of Childhood Sexual Abuse. London; Newbury Park: Sage Publications, 1992. Central RC 560 .C46 D738 1992
Dryfoos, Joy G. Adolescents at Risk: Prevalence and Prevention. New York: Oxford University Press, 1990. HV 1431 .D79 1990
Durrant, Michael. Creative Strategies for School Problems: Solutions for Psychologists and Teachers. New York: W.W. Norton & Co., 1995 LB 1027.55 .D87 1995
Ferrara, Matthew L. Group Counseling with Juvenile Delinquents: The Limit and Lead Approach. Newbury Park, CA: Sage Publications, 1992. HV 9069 .F45 1992
Germinario, Vito, Janet Cervalli, and Evelyn Hunt Ogden. All Children Successful: Real Answers for Helping At-Risk Elementary Students. Lancaster, PA: Technomic Pub. Co., 1992. LC 4091 .G46 1992
Group Counseling for Secondary Schools. Edited by Dorothy J. Scrivner Blum. Springfield, IL: Charles C. Thomas, 1990. LB 1620.4 .G76 1990
HIV Positive: Perspectives on Counseling. Edited by Margot Tallmer, et al. Philadelphia, PA: Charles Press, 1991. Biomedical WC 503.7 H6765 1991
Hood, Albert B. and Richard W. Johnson. Assessment in Counseling: A Guide to the Use of Psychological Assessment Procedures. Alexandria, VA: American Association for Counseling and Development, 1991. Biomedical Reference WM 145 H776a 1991
Humphrey, James Harry. Stress Management for Elementary Schools. Springfield, IL: C.C. Thomas, 1993. LB 1027.5 .H828 1993
Includes information on counseling in elementary education.
Identifying and Implementing the Essential Values of the Profession.
Edited by Robert B. Young. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass, 1993. LB 2343 .I345 1993
Describes methods of higher education counseling in which basic human values are communicated to students.
MacLennan, Beryce W. and Kathryn R. Dies. Group Counseling and Psychotherapy with Adolescents. 2nd ed. New York: Columbia University Press, 1992. RJ 505 .G7 M33 1992
McDonald, Patricia Alpaugh and Margaret Haney. Counseling the Older Adult: A Training Manual in Clinical Gerontology. Lexington, MA: Lexington Books, 1988. HQ 1064 .U5 M14 1988
Mordock, John B. Counseling Children: Basic Principles for Helping the Troubled and Defiant Child. New York: Continuum, 1991. HV 715 .M67 1991
Palmatier, Larry L. Crisis Counseling for a Quality School Community: Applying Wm. Glasser's Choice Theory. Washington, DC: Accelerated Development, 1998. LB 1027.5 .C685 1998
Phillips, Beeman N. Educational and Psychological Perspectives on Stress in Students, Teachers, and Parents. Brandon, VT: CPPC, 1993. LB 1027.5 .P523 1993
Includes information on counseling in elementary education.
Pitcher, Gayle Diane and Scott Poland. Crisis Intervention in the Schools. New York: Guilford Press, 1992. LB 1027.55 .P53 1992
Raaheim, Kjell, Janek Wankowski, and John Radford. Helping Students to Learn: Teaching, Counselling, Research. 2nd ed. Bristol, PA: Society for Research into Higher Education: Open University Press, 1991. LB 2343.3 .R33 1991
Topics of discussion include counseling in higher education.
Research and Counseling: Building Strong School Counseling Programs. Edited by Garry R. Walz. Alexandria, VA: American Association for Counseling and Development, 1988. LB 1027.5 .R445 1988
Roessler, Richard. Case Management and Rehabilitation Counseling: Procedures and Techniques. Austin, TX: Pro-Ed, 1992. Central HD 7255.5 .R63 1992
Rosenfield, Sylvia A. and Todd A. Gravois. Instructional Consultation Teams: Collaborating for Change. New York : Guilford Press, 1996. LB 3430 .R67 1996
Schools and Family Therapy: Using Systems Theory and Family therapy in the Resolution of School Problems. Edited by William M. Walsh and G. Robert Williams. Springfield, IL: C.C. Thomas Publisher, 1997. LB 3430 .S455 1997
Simpson, Richard L. Conferencing Parents of Exceptional Children. 2nd ed. Austin, TX: PRO-ED, 1990. LC 225.5 .S55 1990
Sklare, Gerald B. Brief Counseling That Works: A Solution-focused Approach for School Counselors. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications Co., 1997. LB 1027.5 .S486 1997
Steele, William and Melvyn Raider. Working with Families in Crisis: School-Based Intervention. New York: Guilford Press, 1991. HV 699 .S68 1991
Testing in Counseling Practice. Edited by C. Edward Watkins, Jr. and Vicki L. Campbell. Hillsdale, NJ: L. Erlbaum, 1990. Central BF 176 .T425 1990
Thomas, R. Murray. Counseling and Life-Span Development. Newbury Park, CA: Sage Publications, 1990. BF 637 .C6 T493 1990
Thompson, Charles Lowell and Linda B. Rudolph. Counseling Children. Pacific Grove, CA: Brooks/Cole Pub. Co., 1988. RJ 504 .T49 1988
Watkins, C. Edward. Research in Counseling. Hillsdale, NJ: L. Erlbaum Associates, 1991. Central BF 637 .C6 W38 1991
Internet Resources
AERA-E ELECTRONIC FORUM. Sponsored by the Counseling and Human Development division of the American Educational Research Association.
AERA-E is an unmoderated electronic discussion forum, founded in 1993, for educational researchers engaged in studying counseling and human development. To subscribe, send a message to: listserv@asu.edu In the body of the message type: SUB AERA-L your first-name your last-name
Student Counseling Centers on the Internet: A Directory for Counseling Center Professional. Maintained by David L. Gilles-Thomas, Ph.D. http://ub-counseling.buffalo.edu/centers.html
This World Wide Web homepage features information on different internet resources that have been establisthed by various campus-related counseling centers.
About the Library | Finding Articles and Other Resources | Finding Reserves
For Peabody Faculty | For Peabody Students | Learning Commons
Heard Library | Peabody College | Vanderbilt University
Copyright © 2001-2008 by the Peabody Library.
Comments or questions about our Web site? Let us know.
Last updated September 28, 2004.
