Library Home                       Contact Your Librarian                       Hours                       Subject Guides

   Resources for Book Reviews


   Databases:

Book Review Index Online Plus (1965-current). A comprehensive online guide to book reviews that includes more than five million review citations from thousands of publications, with linking to more than 630,000 full-text reviews.

LexisNexis Academic (coverage varies by title). This full text resource includes reviews from 17 sources, including Atlanta Journal and Constitution, Boston Globe, Christian Science Monitor, London Telegraph, Manchester Guardian, New York Times, San Francisco Chronicle, London Times, and Washington Post. From the main page, choose NEWS, then ARTS & SPORTS; be sure that the drop-down box has "Book, Movie, Music, & Play Reviews" in it.

ProQuest (coverage varies by title). Many periodical articles are available here in full text, but some are citation & abstract only. This database provides access to Booklist and Publishers Weekly. Using the ADVANCED SEARCH, you can choose BOOK REVIEW from the ARTICLE TYPE drop-down box, and you can limit your search by date. Using the ADVANCED SEARCH, you can click on ARTICLE TYPE and DATE options at the bottom of the search screen.

Readers Guide Retrospective (1890-1982). The Readers Guide to Periodical Literature is a rich resource with over 3 million articles from over 500 leading popular magazines. The link leads to the main Wilson Web page. Click Readers' Guide Retro to search the database.

Infotrac OneFile (coverage varies by title). Many periodical articles are available here in full text, but some are citation & abstract only. Enter the TITLE (or AUTHOR) AND BOOK REVIEW.

JSTOR (coverage varies by title, often covering the full run of the journal up to 5 years ago). Full text of core journals in a variety of academic disciplines, especially in the humanities and social sciences. Go to SEARCH, then ADVANCED SEARCH. Under "Narrow Your Search To" and "These Types" click REVIEW.

Project Muse (coverage varies by title). Covers journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences published by Johns Hopkins University Press; most are available in full text. Go to ADVANCED SEARCH and choose REVIEW from the drop down menu "By Type."

Web of Science contains Social Science Citation Index (1990 to present) and Science Citation Index (1965 to present). Do a CITED REF search: enter the author's name as CITED AUTHOR, using the date of publication for the CITED YEAR. You can then limit your search by selecting DOCUMENT TYPE as BOOK REVIEW.

Periodicals Contents Index (coverage varies by title). Index to bibliographic citations from thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. Choose ARTICLE SEARCH. Unders SEARCH OPTIONS on the right, check only the box for BOOK REVIEWS.

IBZ: Internationale Bibliographie der Zietschriftenliteratur (1989-current). Index to bibliographic citations of periodical articles from international sources in many languages; subject headings are in German, with cross-references in French and English. Click the small British flag icon in the top left for ENGLISH display.

Poole's Plus (Nineteenth Century Masterfile) Index to bibliographic citations in the Index to Legal Periodical Literature, 1786-1922; Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1970; Index to the New York Times, 1863-1906; Palmer's Index to the London Times, 1880-1890; and other indexes that focus on British periodicals of the nineteenth century.

Ethnic Newswatch (1991-current). Index to bibliographic citations and selected full text of articles from newspapers and magazines published for ethnic communities in the US. Click ENGLISH to continue to the search page, then the ADVANCED tab. At the bottom left, choose MORE SEARCH OPTIONS, then near the bottom at DOCUMENT TYPE, select BOOK REVIEW from the drop down menu.

Left Index (1982-current). Index to citations & abstracts (with some full text) of material on political, economic, and social issues from academic and general readership periodicals published by leftist and radical media from around the world. Choose Left Index from the list of links and then click CONTINUE. At the right, click Change Search and Display Level, then select ADVANCED SEARCH MODE. In the PUBLICATION TYPE box, enter BOOK REVIEW.

National Newspaper Index (1977-current; updated daily) Article references or abstracts from The New York Times (late and national editions), The Wall Street Journal (eastern and western editions), The Christian Science Monitor (national edition), The Washington Post (final edition), and The Los Angeles Times (home edition). Go to MORE SEARCH OPTIONS and choose REVIEW.

Chicago Tribune (1849-1985). Go to MORE SEARCH OPTIONS and choose document type REVIEW. Provides full text of articles (in PDF format). For access to later issues use ProQuest.

New York Times (1851-2003). Go to MORE SEARCH OPTIONS and choose document type REVIEW. Provides full text of articles (in PDF format). For access to later issues use ProQuest.

The Washington Post (1877-1989). Go to MORE SEARCH OPTIONS and choose document type REVIEW. Provides full text of articles (in PDF format). For access to later issues use ProQuest.

Times Digital Archive (London Times) (1785-1985). Index and full text of articles.

Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800). Index and full text of articles. Provides a first hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods.

 
   Internet Resources:

  Do not overlook resources available over the Internet, especially if you are looking for information on a current bestseller--do a title and author search in your favorite search engine. A warning: many publishers are now offering free "reader's guides" for book discussion groups, and many authors have their own websites; remember that these sites are marketing tools and thus do not qualify as impartial reviews.

For a useful list of links to book review web sites, see:
Directory of Book Reviews on the Web  (http://www.acqweb.org/bookrev.html).

 

 General Print Resources (Located in Central Library unless otherwise noted):

Book Review Digest [1905-January,1999]
Provides citations and excerpts of book reviews from about 90 periodicals.

Z 1219.C95
Ref. Bookcase 2

Book Review Index [1965-current]
Provides citations only of book reviews from a wider range of periodicals than Book Review Digest. Note that abbreviations are used for journal titles.

Z 1035.A1 B62 (1965-84)
Z 1035.A1 B6 (1985-current)
Ref. Bookcase 2

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature [1900 - 1997]
Book reviews are listed separately at the back of each index.

AI 3.R47 (1890-1899)--2 vols.
AI 3.R4 (1900-1959; 1970-1997)
AI 3. C84 (1959-1970)--7 vols.
Ref. Bookcase 3

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals, 1802-1974
Index for book reviews in 150 humanities journals.

Z 1035.A1 C65
Ref. Bookcase 2

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886-1974
Index for book reviews in 459 scholarly journals in history, political science, and sociology.

Z 1035.A1 C6
Ref. Bookcase 2
Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities [1960-1990]
Index for book reviews in selected humanities journals.
Z 1035.A1 I63
Ref. Bookcase 2
Social Sciences Citation Index
[1956-1998] See online version for 1990-current.
Z 7161.S65
Ref. Bookcase 3
Alternative Press Index
[vol. 4 (1972) to vol. 15 (1983)]
AI 3.A27
Central Stacks
Book Review Index to Social Science Periodicals [1964-1974] (4 vols).
Z 7161.A15 B65
Ref. Bookcase 2
C.R.I.S.: The Combined Retrospective Index to Journals in History, 1838-1974 (11 vols.)
Z 6205.C18
Ref. Bookcase 4
C.R.I.S.: The Combined Retrospective Index to Journals in Political Science, 1886-1974 (8 vols.)
Z 7163.C18
Ref. Bookcase 4
C.R.I.S.: The Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in Sociology, 1895-1974 (6 vols.)
Z 7164.S68 C18
Ref. Stacks
National Library Service Cumulative Book Review Index, 1905-1974 (6 vols.)
Z 1035.A1 N35 1975
Ref. Bookcase 2

The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900 (5 vols.)
Index to contents over about 40 British periodicals; look at the tables of contents of each journal to find the title of the book.

AI 3.W45
Ref. Stacks

Palmer's Index to The Times [London] Newspaper, 1790-1941

AI 21.T5
Central Ref.
Index to Book Reviews in England, 1775-1800
Z 1035.A1 F675 1997
Central Ref
Literary Reviews in British Periodicals, 1789-1797: A Bibliography; Literary Reviews in British Periodicals, 1798-1820; Literary Reviews in British Periodicals, 1821-1825
Z 2013.W36 1979
Central Ref
Choice (Association of College and Research Libraries)
Print only: This periodical has reviews of books intended for academic libraries.

Z 1035.C5
Central Periodicals
vols. 1 (1964/65) to 39 (2002)--subscription cancelled

Education Periodicals
Shelved by title
vols. 1 (1964/65) to current

 

 General Advice:

Be sure that you have the accurate title and/or author of the book. It is helpful to know the date of publication, as this information can help you limit your search in many databases and print indexes. For books aimed at general reading audiences, such as popular fiction or history for the non-specialist, reviews can appear just prior to date of publication and continue appearing up to a year later, depending on the source of the review. For scholarly books, reviews may appear in academic journals as much as 3 years later, depending on the publication schedule of the journal.

You might begin your search with the general or multidisciplinary databases and print resources, listed below. If the book is a scholarly one (i.e., written for an academic audience), use the subject-specific databases and print resources, under the General Print Resources section of this guide.

A warning: not all books get reviewed, but be sure that you have checked many different databases and print resources before you give up your search. Remember that many electronic databases begin their full-text coverage sometime in the 1980s and/or their indexing in the 1960s, so you need to check the dates of coverage for each database. Thus, depending on the date of publication, you might need to begin with the print resources for a general readership book or with the subject-specific resources for an academic book.

Remember that you are searching for information about a book, so you should search for the title and/or author as subject or as keywords--the author of the review is not the author of the book. Another way to limit your search in some databases is to use "review" or "reviews" as part of your search statement; some databases allow you to choose "review" as a document type or publication type. Check the help screen for that database for more information about limiting or narrowing your search.

If you are not able to find the full text online, you need to check in Acorn to see if Vanderbilt carries the periodical that is the source of the review. If this library does not have the periodical, consider the option of interlibrary loan.


Revised by Sara Byrd, 3/22/07.
Updated 2/6/08.
Campus Libraries: Biomedical | Central | Divinity | Law | Management | Music | Peabody | Science & Engineering | Special Collections
Vanderbilt University | Phone Numbers/Addresses of Campus Libraries | Privacy Policy
Jean and Alexander Heard Library, 419 21st Avenue South, Nashville, TN 37240-0007
Telephone 615-322-7100 | Fax 615-343-8279