Library Home                   Contact Your Librarian                     Hours                            Subject Guides

Alert Services and RSS Feeds

Many databases have alert services to help you stay current in your field.

Different Types of Alert Services

  • Saved searches, search-alerts and SDIs (Selective Dissemination of Information) will notify you when new articles match a saved search. Searches can be on a subject, author, or contain specific keywords.
  • Citation alerts notify you when new publications cite a particular work.
  • Table of Contents (TOC) services will send you a journal table of contents when a new issue has been published.
  • RSS Feeds will automatically check for updates and displays them for you on a single webpage.

    Setting up Alert Services
  • In most cases, you will need to register with the database or publisher site in order to set up an alert. Registration and related services are free to Vanderbilt users with a VUNet ID and Password.
  • Start with the database(s) and journals you use most frequently.
  • Look on the home page for terms such as "alert", "email updates", "sign-in", or "my account". Some databases, don't link to alert services from the home page, but the services are offered once you sign-in or after you perform a search.
  • See the list below of Alert Services for Major Databases.

    Setting up RSS Feeds

You can ask your librarian to advise you on creating alerts, RSS feeds and optimal search strategies.

 

Alert Services for Major Databases:

Acorn Called: Acorn Alerts
Start by clicking Account Login. After performing a search, click on item Details for alert options.
America: History and Life Called: Clio Alert
Click on Advanced Search and then click on the Personal Profile [view] link.
Art Full Text Called: SDI
Start by clicking the SDI link on the top navigation bar of the home page.
A.T.L.A. Religion Database Called: Alerts
Start by clicking on Sign In in the upper left of the main page. Then click on folders to see alert options. Instructions.
BIOSIS Called: Citation Alerts & Table of Contents Alerts
Start by clicking the Citation Alerts or My Journals link on the right side of main page.
Business Source Premier Called: Alerts
Start by clicking on Sign In in the upper left of the main page. Then click on folders to see alert options. Instructions.
Compendex Called: Alerts
Start by clicking on the My Alerts link in the upper-right of the search page.
EconLit Called: SDI
Start by clicking on the SDI link in the upper-right of the search page.
Education Abstracts Called: Alerts
Start by clicking on the Create Alerts link on the left side of the search page. You can save alerts after you have performed a search.
Google Called: Alerts
Start by going to the Google Alerts page.
Historical Abstracts Called: Clio Alert
Click on Advanced Search and then click on the Personal Profile [view] link.
Index to Legal Periodicals Called: Alerts
Start by clicking on the Create Alerts link on the left side of the search page. You can save alerts after you have performed a search.
MLA (Literature Online) Called: Author Alerts
Start by clicking on My Archive and sign in. Then click on Author Alerts.
PAIS Called: Alerts
To subscribe, click on alerts, you will be prompted to sign-in/sign-up. You can save alerts after you have performed a search.
Philosophers Index Called: Alerts
To subscribe, click on alerts, you will be prompted to sign-in/sign-up. You can save alerts after you have performed a search.
Prisma - Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanisticas Called: Saved Searches
To subscribe, click on My Archive, you will be prompted to sign in/sign-up. You can save alerts after you have performed a search.
ProQuest Called: Alerts
After performing a search, scroll to the end of search results and click on Set up Alert. See also the Help on Alerts.
PsycINFO Called: SDI
Start by clicking the SDI link on the top navigation bar of the home page.
PubMed (Medline)

Called: Saved Search
Start by clicking on Sign In the top right of the PubMed main page. After performing a search, click on Save Search.

ScienceDirect Called: Alerts
Start by clicking on the alerts link on the ScienceDirect/Elsevier home page. You will be prompted to sign-in/sign-up. You can save alerts after you have performed a search.
Sociological Abstracts Called: Alerts
To subscribe, click on alerts, you will be prompted to sign-in/sign-up. You can save alerts after you have performed a search.
Web of Knowledge Called: Citation Alerts & Table of Contents Alerts
Start by clicking the Citation Alerts or My Journals link on the right side of main page.

RSS Feeds for Major Journal Aggregators:

IngentaConnect Click for instructions. Search the publication you are interested in, the orange RSS button appears to the right of the list of volumes and issues available.
Project Muse Click for instructions and RSS available journals.
Religion and Philosophy Collection Click for instructions and information.
Springer LINK Click for instructions and RSS available journals by topic.

 

Please send comments, additions and corrections to: Hilary Rudsenske